Livin’ On a Prayer

IT’S SATURDAY IN STILLWATER!!!!!!

Hmmm. Doesn’t quite have the same ring as IT’S SATURDAY IN ATHENS!!!!!!!

Oh well. This week it will be. And there’s nothing else like it.

But first, a recap of last Saturday.

So the day started out good. We all got up, got ready and left Tulsa for Stillwater. We left around 7, planning to get there around 8 or so. Well, about 20 minutes down the road, Michelle exclaims, “Oh shit! I forgot my ticket!” Awesome. So we turned and headed back to the DoubleTree to get her ticket. Fortunately, we were all in great moods so we just laughed it off and turned  around and headed back to Stillwater. On the way, we stopped to get Subway for lunch. (Can I just say, God bless a Subway that has provolone because they are few and far between.) When we finally got into Stillwater, we were amazed because there were NO cars anywhere. I mean, a few here and there, but nothing like the dead-stop Athens traffic on Gameday.

"traffic" on Gameday

"traffic" on Gameday

So we drove around and checked out the campus a little bit. It was super nice and flat and brick and very spread out. We then headed to Arby’s to use pee use the facilities and then go find a tailgate spot. We found an awesome spot right next to the stadium for only $20. But when Claire went to get money out of her wallet, it was gone! She left it at Arby’s. So Sarah and I got out and stood in our spot until they came back. Fortunately, it was still in the Arby’s bathroom. We tailgated a little while and played a few drinking games with the people around us.

with Boone Pickens Stadium in the background

with Boone Pickens Stadium in the background

with "SuperDawg"

with "SuperDawg"

no idea who those guys are...

no idea who those guys are...

Then it was time for the Dawg Walk so we headed over the the stadium to see our team come in.

DSCF1322

Coach Bobo

Coach Bobo

Jeff Owens- SO glad he's back and healthy!

Jeff Owens- SO glad he's back and healthy!

The Red-Headed Wonder- Joe Cox

The Red-Headed Wonder- Joe Cox

Sarah's hand that touched Joe Cox

Sarah's hand that touched Joe Cox

And then, when we thought it was all over with and were on our way back, we saw this precious thing:

Uga VII

Uga VII

Soon after the Dawg Walk, Sarah and I headed to the stadium. I’ve honestly probably never seen that much orange in my life. It was all I could do not to vomit. (Not really, but it was a TON of orange.)

can you see all the orange??

can you see all the orange??

yes, that's a WOMAN!

yes, that's a WOMAN!

Whoa. Didn’t realize how HUGE that picture was going to be. haha oops! Oh well.

As for the game, well, we had a great first quarter!

DSCF1349

look who I found!

look who I found!

Honestly, we’ve played better, but I’ve also seen us play worse. The offense didn’t do terribly, but they just couldn’t put points up on the board. And at the end of the day, you’ve got to do that. And the defense was on the field waaaaay too much.

A couple of the calls were terrible. And they resulted in a touchdown.

ALSO (and I’m going to look this up on NCAA right after this), OK St. had this gun that they liked to shoot off at random times. And that sucker was LOUD. I jumped every single time it went off. And at one point, while the play was in motion (we had the ball, of course), they decided to shoot the damn thing off.

Now come on.

You should know better than that. The band can’t play when the play’s in motion. So how the heck can they shoot off a canon? I think there should have been a penalty for that. But I guess they don’t take their football as seriously in the Big 12 as we do in the SEC.

Such is life. Someone had to lose. Although I am a tad bit embarrassed that we’re the only team in the SEC that has lost. But all of the will change next week. :)

After the game, we were STARVING so we went to Eskimo Joe’s which is a sports bar and had a couple of orders of cheese fries. My goodness I’ve had sweet, sweet dreams about those cheese fries. They were delicious.

At halftime of the Bama-VA Tech game we headed back to Tulsa. At one point, I looked back and saw this sweet thing passed out in the back seat:

Copy of DSCF1351hahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Oh! Gotta love it!!

Okay, I’ve got to wrap this up. It’s getting way too long. (But props to you if you’re still reading!)

So Sunday, we got up and left. Not much to tell. Sarah was a rock star and basically drove the entire way back. We made it in record time.

And now I’m glad to be home. I’m glad I went. If we had won and I hadn’t been there, I would have kicked myself all week. Just add this to another one of those life experiences.

Gossip Girl: 6 days!!!

Leave a Reply

