Carry On My Wayward Son

Oklahoma.

Where do I start?

Let’s start at the very beginning. A very good place to start. When you read you begin with A-B-C. When you sing you begin with Do-Re-Mi.

Yeah, you get the point. I’ll start with Thursday.

Not a lot to say about Thursday. We drove. And drove. And drove. And drove. And drove some more. Through Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, and part of Arkansas.

Claire driving

Claire driving

Fortunately, we had 6 different MapQuest directions, in case we got lost, courtesy of Michelle.

DSCF1265

Around 5 a.m., we stopped in Little Rock and slept at a Days Inn for about 5 hours before hopping back in the car to go to Tulsa.

Yes, it really WAS that sketchy.

Yes, it really WAS that sketchy.

We finally got to the Doubletree in Tulsa where we were staying and were greeted with this:

Too delicious for words.

Too delicious for words.

I’m 100% convinced that this cookie is the ONLY reason we stayed at the DoubleTree. Sarah seriously talked about this cookie the entire way to Tulsa. And for good reason. It was DELICIOUS. I mean, they even put it on the side of their van.

DSCF1294Since we were starving, we decided to go find some awesome Oklahoma barbeque for a late lunch. And this story is exactly why the GPS needs the ‘avoid the ghetto’ option. We punched ‘barbeque’ (mozilla- stop telling me barbeque isn’t a word when I KNOW it is) into the GPS and decided on Wilson’s B-B-Q. So we jumped back in the car and followed the yellow brick road to the Wizard. If the yellow brick road was called Virgin Street (and I’m pretty sure it’s not a place where virgins hang out, if you know what I mean…) And the Wizard was a black guy wearing a white tux with a red bow tie, cumberbund, and carnation in his lapel. Oh, and a white top hat. And the Emerald City had a ‘No Firearms’ sign on the gates. And the motto was ‘U Need No Teeth to Eat Our Beef.’ And no, I’m not kidding. It was on the sign.

DSCF1300And on the cups.

DSCF1304But it was VERY DELICIOUS. And I give Oklahoma barbeque 2 thumbs up! (And trust me, I know my barbeque.)

(And I can believe it’s legendary. But I’m pretty sure I needed my teeth to eat it. Just sayin’.)

The rest of the day was rawther uneventful, so I’ll skip the boring details and just get to Saturday.

But I think I’m going to save that for tomorrow. Because this post is getting long and it’s getting late and I’m getting tired and I have to go to class tomorrow.

After 5 days of not going to class.

Yes, 5.

I know, I’m a slacker. I guess that’s what happens when you’re a 5th year senior taking freshman level classes.

Oh well.

Gossip Girl: ONE WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Deanna has FINALLY finished watching the 2nd season! So now Michelle and I can talk about it freely in front of her! Yay!)

By the way, we also took 2 different quizzes and both times she was Jenny and I was Serena. Totally not who we expected. I mean, she’s totally Vanessa with the hair and the plaid and I desperately wanted to be Blair. My headband collection has exploded since watching GG. And my love for Chuck borders on obsessive.

But Seventeen and Teen Vogue are never wrong.

So I guess we will just have to accept our fate.

Leave a Reply

