Runaway- Love and Theft

WHAT A FABULOUS DAY!!!! Oh Lordy, this weather is just perfect! I got to pull out my new sunglasses that I haven’t worn in days and days. But perhaps the best part of today was that it was finally VEST WEATHER!!!! Oh, how I’ve been so sad lately about how cold and wet and miserable it’s been and today I realized it’s been because it just felt like we completely skipped over vest weather. But fortunately, today, it was back!

Tomorrow is Kacina and Jason’s wedding. kacinajason

kacinajason2Which is why I am currently in Athens and not in Nashville. I’ve been kind of sad about it, but then I realized today that every away game I’ve been to, we’ve lost. So I might have a Florida ticket and a Tech ticket for sale! Ha! Just kidding! But the parental units are currently in Nashville, so the Rhodes are still representing! Maybe they’ll be better luck than I am!

Last night, Michelle and I went to the sorority’s philanthropy concert- Love and Theft at the 40 Watt.

Kind of funny side story: the only time I’ve ever been in 40 Watt before then was when I was in about the 3rd or 4th grade and my cousin George’s band, The Connells, was playing in Athens and we came up and listened to the sound check and then went to dinner with him. It’s funny how you can have some memories that are so specific. I totally remember being there, sitting on the couch in the back with Chance watching them and the bathrooms having shoes above them- a high heel for the girls and an oxford for the boys. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have known which was which because they had those male/female symbols on the doors. And then we went to dinner and he told us a story about how a couple that had been sitting near him at another restaurant realized they didn’t have any money to pay for dinner so they just left! It’s just so weird that I remember all of this so clearly but can’t remember what I had for dinner the other night! Anyway, the band was really good and they had a top 20 hit in Germany or Norway. If you ever have time, look them up! They have a website with all of their music videos on it. George is the one with long hair in most of them. Oh, the days of grunge!theconnellsGeorge is the one in the front. Now he’s a real estate agent with 3 BEAUTIFUL boys! It’s funny how much things change.

george_huntley_main1Hahahahahahahahaha!!! Anyway, from what I can remember, it hasn’t changed too much- still have the shoes over the doors and the couch is still there (probably the same one!) but instead of having the symbols, it now says Guys and Dolls on the bathrooms. Ha!

Okay, back to Love and Theft. So Michelle and I headed over there and it was really fun. I didn’t know any of their songs, but they were still good and I got to meet Mackenzie’s boyfriend so it was well worth the $20.

me and Mich

me and Mich

Burlesie and me- with the band in the background

Burlesie and me- with the band in the background

Mackenz and me- the bf's a pretty good photog (very handy when you go to formals!)

Mackenz and me- the bf's a pretty good photog (very handy when you go to formals!)

Afterward, Mich and I went to El Centro with Frances and Melissa Baxter and soon you will see why I will probably never step foot in that place ever again.

me, MelBax and Michelle

me, MelBax and Michelle

Frannie and me

Frannie and me

Frances and Michelle

Frances and Michelle

Annnnd the reason I’ll probably never go there again! I’m too old for this stuff!

DSCF1587

And now, I’m in for a fun-filled night of watching Vampire Diaries and doing work with Deanna! I can’t wait! I’m going to knit and play computer games and just lay to my heart’s content!

I hope your Friday night’s as wonderful as mine!!

One Comment on “Runaway- Love and Theft”

  1. […] And this would be the point where I left my camera. So no picture of the best turkey burger I’ve ever had (and yes I’ve been to Flip Burger.) Also, the restaurant is called Boylan Heights and it’s named after The Connells 2nd album, which is the band my cousin George was in. […]


Leave a Reply

