Going to the Chapel- The Dixie Cups

(It’s The Dixie Cups the coolest name for a band? So cute! I mean, for a girl band from the ’60s.)

Dang y’all! This weekend gets an A+ from me!

Truly, it should be an A++, but Florida won. Hace made a good point this weekend when he pointed out that he was more emotionally invested in Florida losing than us winning. I felt the same way. What is wrong with me? I guess since it was so close. If it had been a blow out, then I wouldn’t have cared as much. Ah, well. But clearly Florida is beatable. Someone just has to do it! And at this point, I don’t even care who it is. Okay, I’m done with the Gaytor bashing. Back to me! Ha!

Well, Friday night was spent laying around and watching DVR’d episodes of Vampire Diaries with Deanna and then Say Yes to the Dress until 3 a.m. while my parents were partying it up in Nashville. Yes, my parents are wilder than I am and I have accepted it.  But I must say, I loved vegging out in front of the TV and not really having any responsibilities. Awesome!

Saturday morning was spent getting ready for the wedding, so I could watch the game and not have to bothered with things like showering and getting ready. Deanna and Ro came over and watched the game with me and then Jamie’s parents came and picked me up right after we scored and made it 27-10, so I felt okay with leaving. Although we did not look stellar, we did win and so that’s a start. And obviously Florida is capable of losing, so maybe we’ll be the ones that do it! (But don’t worry, I’m not holding my breath!)

Kacina is Greek Orthodox, so their wedding was held in the Greek church in Watkinsville. The ceremony was very beautiful, but LONG! Coming from the Baptist/Methodist get-’em-in-get-’em-out-get-’em-to-the-party mindset, it was interesting to sit there so long. Everything was chanted, basically meaning it was sung and almost everything was done 3 times to signify the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. It was so beautiful and traditional and meaning. The only thing I didn’t really love is that they didn’t say vows to each other, but it was still really neat. I love experiencing new things!

(Most of these pictures were taken by Jamie since my camera was acting up. And I wasn’t at the rehearsal dinner since I had other priorities like getting bed sores from not moving off the couch.)

Kacina and Jason at the rehearsal dinner

Kacina and Jason at the rehearsal dinner

Sarah, Kac, and Jamie

Sarah, Kac, and Jamie

the beautiful bride

the beautiful bride

the newlyweds dancing their first dance

the newlyweds dancing their first dance

yum! cutting the cake

yum! cutting the cake

hahahahaha!

hahahahaha!

me with my sweet roommate

me with my sweet roommate

Melissa and me- my drinking buddy

Melissa and me- my drinking buddy

Jamie, me, and Sarah: the two maids of honor- they were AWESOME!

Jamie, me, and Sarah: the two maids of honor- they were AWESOME!

Kelly, Jamie, me, Melissa, Sarah, and Laura

Kelly, Jamie, me, Melissa, Sarah, and Laura- the single ladies!

Jamie's dad and all the girls

Jamie's dad and all the girls

On another happy note, look what came in the mail Sunday! Yay!!!

DSCF1601I feel like such a grown-up!!! Ha!

One Comment on “Going to the Chapel- The Dixie Cups”

  1. Cathy says:

    FYI–Your parents are NOT wild!


Leave a Reply

