Let’s See How Long It Takes Me to Break These…

Dang. That title is really “glass half-empty.” It seems like I’m setting myself up for failure. Okay, let’s try this again.

LET’S SEE HOW LONG I CAN KEEP THESE!!!!!

So, I usually don’t do resolutions. Actually, I did them last year, but of course, I didn’t really keep up with them. My resolutions for last year were seemingly easy, but I still didn’t follow through. All I had to do was drink a glass of milk a day (lasted about a week… maybe), read one new book a month (lasted about 3 months- when I finished reading Chelsea Lately’s books), and watch one new movie a month (I may have actually done this, but I didn’t really keep track).

Why I think this year will be different, I don’t know. Maybe because not only is it a new year, it’s a totally different stage in my life. I am now a graduate from college and will be entering the ‘real world’ at some point. Crazy and a little scary. But all most of my friends have done it, so why can’t I?

So I guess I figure that entering this new stage in my life means that I will change. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t. Maybe change is the wrong word. Improve doesn’t sound right either. I don’t know. These are just some things I want to do in the coming year.

1.) Read my Beth Moore devotional every night and read the surrounding Bible verses in the Bible. In college, I really got away from the Lord and lately, I’ve really been feeling Him draw me near again. I think I needed this time away to make me cherish it and realize how much I needed Him. (I’m not saying I was ever a terrible person and did terrible things, but our relationship was definitely not what it should have been and it’s entirely my fault. So I’m trying to fix it.) (I don’t know why I feel the need to explain, but ah, well.)

2.) Pray more. Just when I have down time, talk to God. Especially in the car. I think I’m going to be in the car a lot next year. More on that later.

3.) NOT SHOP!!!! This is a big one!  Well, not too big, because I shopped extremely rarely over the summer. But I have to make a conscious effort to not shop. And this (should) include not buying music. I have a problem with iTunes, especially when a new Glee episode premieres! I truly do not need any thing and am really trying to realize that it’s okay for me to not get everything I want. Okay, I sound like a HUGE brat. Promise I’m not. Okay, moving on.

(Oh, except I want a really cute camera bag from Etsy. BUT I think this is justified because I got my new camera from my grandfather for Graduation and I don’t want anything to happen to it!) (Oh, and a jewelry box. Or one of those huge jewelry chests. Because I have a ton of jewelry. And really no way to organize it. It’s all in a huge, disgusting knot.) (But these are birthday things. If I can hold out for that long.)

4.) Stay in touch with friends better and try to get together with as many as possible several times a year. Life is short and I want to cherish the times we’ve spent together.

5.) Take LOTS of pictures. But try not to be so focused on capturing the moment that I forget to enjoy the moment.

6.) Write my Compassion child at least twice a month.

7.) Start an exercise routine!!!! I truly do NOT enjoy exercise. But, I know that it’s easier to get in the habit now than when I’m older. And perhaps once I start to get into shape, I will start to enjoy it. Right? Maybe? Hopefully?

Bueller?

Bueller?

8.) Go to bed and wake up at a decent hour. So far, this has been a big, fat FAIL. Anyone that knows me knows that I am a night owl to the max! And I always have been. When I was in 2nd grade, I would go to school with huge black circles under my eyes. My mom had to explain to my teacher that they put me to bed, I just would not go to sleep. That is one of the reasons why I loved my major in college is because we would all stay up late working on projects. Perfect for me! But now I’m an “adult” in the “real world,” it’s time for me to start keeping “grown-up” hours.

Okay, well, these are all I can think of for now. And that’s plenty! Let’s face it, I couldn’t even keep 3 last year and 2 of them, I only had to do once a month! Ha! I will try to let you know my progress as time goes on. Maybe by posting it on the ‘ole blog here, it will help keep me accountable. We shall see!

What are your New Years Resolutions? Do you even make any? How are you doing so far?

2 Comments on “Let’s See How Long It Takes Me to Break These…”

  1. Alissa says:

    Ahhh! I had the same sleep problem as a kid (and now!) Its ridiculous. The month of December, Im pretty sure I went to bed around 4am every night/morning?!! I should make that one of my goals too. Man. Let me know if you are able to come up with a solution. =)

  2. Kristin says:

    I loved your resolutions! All of them…going to bed at a decent hour was hard for me, until I had to start waking up at 6 every morning and I started wanting to go to sleep earlier.

    My only resolution–no more speeding tickets! (I got one mailed to me and one that should have been a ticket, but I got off with a warning instead…)


Leave a Reply

