Here on Gilligan’s, I mean, Sloan’s Isle

Apparently, in addition to my 8 or so resolutions to improve my life since graduating college, I am also adding watching extremely mediocre TV to my life. I mean, The Bach, American Idol, and the cream of the crop, tip of the top, is Mary Poppins and there we stop.

Just kidding.

I’m stalling. Because I’m going to get a lot of grief for this. But if you’d watch it, you’d understand.

Yes, it’s true. I watch Jersey Shore. It’s trashy and fabulous and I’m OBSESSED.

Okay moving on. So, in lieu of blogging about my real life (which got interesting lately, by the way) (I got a JOB!!) (kinda), I’m totally stealing Jami’s Facebook status question and answering it on the ‘ole blog here.

If you were going to be stuck on a deserted island, which 5 books, movies, people and food (foods?) would you take along?

This is a VERY hard question. But I’m going to try.

Books:

The Bible- I would have so much time to study it, which would be awesome.

A Beth Moore Bible study- A new one. Maybe Esther, because I love that book of the Bible. Random, I know.

To Kill A Mockingbird- It’s a classic. Is Harper Lee still alive? I wish I had the opportunity to meet her. That would be cool. As in, highlight of my life, cool.

Anne of Green Gables- I’m going to cheat and include the whole series because I love it. Anne Shirley is the most enchanting character ever written. Magical.

A Time to Kill- Okay, obviously I love courtroom/lawyer books where there is a black man who is on trial. Ha! But I love John Grisham’s books.

Movies:

Remember The Titans- I can literally quote the whole movie. I used to watch it at least once a week in high school. “In Virginia, high school football is a way of life. It’s bigger than Christmas Day. Daddy worked so hard, my Mama left him. But I stayed with Coach. He needed me on that field.” I think I’ve proved my point.

My Cousin Vinny- Definitely one of the funniest movies ever made. If you haven’t seen it, please go rent it. Now. (It does have a LOT of bad words though. Just a warning, yoots.)

Cinderella- I had a cat named Lucifer when I was 2. And yes, he was named after the movie, not the Devil. The best Disney movie made.

Hello Dolly!- This is the movie that I turn on when I want to have something on, but am doing something else. I love the music and Barbara Streisand and Walter Matthau are hilarious.

Harry Potter series- Again, I’m cheating. But since I didn’t put it on my favorite books, I’ll have to do it in the movies. The books are better, I know, but the movies are still entertaining and the casting is superb.

People:

Okay so clearly this isn’t a deserted island. I don’t know. There are too many people. Maybe Obama so he won’t be President any more. Haha. :) There are just too many. I plead the 5th. But maybe I will be on Isle Esme so Edward will come visit me.

Food:

5 Guys hamburger- O.M.G. I could eat one every day. With tomatoes, pickles, ketchup, and pickles. De-Lish.

Mama’s Macaroni and Cheese- Peaser would be so proud of me. But it’s hard to go wrong with noodles and cheese.

Shrimp and Grits- LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. Shrimp and grits on their own are awesome. Put them together? Dynamite!

Steak and Twice-Baked Potatoes- Okay, I know this is a meal, but I don’t care. But mmmm I loooove a potato! And a delicious steak.

Hmmm. Just realized I have no fruit or vegetable or sweet. Since Coconut Cream Pie will already be on the island, (Duh.) that covers fruit and sweet. I honestly can’t think of what my favorite dessert is. Maybe cheesecake. Oh. I know. Lala’s pineapple cake. It’s amazing and she only makes it once a year for Big Daddy’s birthday. Or maybe caramel cake. Or maybe chocolate pie. Or PECAN PIE!

You know what. I give up. I can’t decide. I’m just going to stay living right where I am with all my favorite people, food, books and movies.

Done and done.

Leave a Reply

