Wild Angels- Martina McBride

Today is a beautiful day if for no other reasons than it’s Friday, I’m wearing flip-flops, and sitting outside on my parents’ porch. WOOOHOOOO!!! God has answered my prayers!

Now as long as it’ll just stay like this and not get cold again, I’ll be good.

I ended up working every day this week! Just for a few hours on Thursday and today, but dang! There’s a BIG difference between a 3 day work week and a 5 day one! Ha! But it was good to make a little extra money.

So for a while now, I’ve wanted to do reviews on whatever book I’m reading at the time. I LOVE to read. But the problem is, lately I’ve started about 7 different books and haven’t finished any of them. I was really excited to start reading again after graduation, but then I started working and realized that I was staying up super late to read. So I just quit. But now I’ve decided I’m going to manage my time better and get a little something called self discipline and start reading again. (I would appreciate your prayers as I’m trying to do this. It’s something I’ve struggled with for a long time and it’s not going to be easy, but I’m determined to do it. There are so many things I want to do that don’t involve the TV or computer.)

ANYWAY.

This week, I read a book! The title of it is A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers and it is wonderful! It’s the first part of a three part of a series called Mark of the Lion. You can read a summary HERE.

The first time I read these books was Freshman year. Jamie recommended them to me because she LOVES Christian fiction. Although I had read them before, I didn’t remember everything that happened and it’s always so refreshing to go back and re-read a book at a different point in your life, simply because your point of view is so different.

This book is about a slave in Rome named Hadassah who is a Christian. The book takes place about 70 years after Christ’s death. This was a very dangerous time and place to be a Christian because Christians were being persecuted and sent to the lion’s den simply for what they believed in. Hadassah’s entire family is dead and she serves the Valerian family, specifically their daughter Julia. Hadassah is a servant in the truest sense of the word.

I loved seeing her relationships with the family and with God as they changed and grew stronger. It’s also amazing to see how I related with the people in this book and how I see a part of myself in each and every one of them. And not just the “good” characters either, but also the “bad” ones.

Okay, well, I don’t want to give too much of the book away, but I do encourage y’all to read it, if you’re interested. And if you’d like, I can loan you the books (if I know you, that is. :))

AND NOW….

IT’S TIME……

FOR……

THE VEGAS PICTURE OF THE DAY!!

Okay. It’s going to be PictureS again, because I have 2 that I want to show y’all.

While in Vegas, the people watching was OUT OF THIS WORLD. These are two of the most memorable people that we saw there.

One day, we were hungry so we went to the food court in Planet Hollywood. Sitting in the booth behind us was this man, sound asleep. I thought it was funny and wanted to remember it, so I took a picture.

One of the reasons the People Watching is so EPIC is because of the CLOTHES! Oh the CLOTHES! And this lady was one of the best! After I took it, the cop she was talking to looked at me and laughed at me! So I walked over and showed him the picture! Ha!

I mean, really. Does it get any better than this?

“Of all the diversions in life, there is none so proper to fill up its empty spaces as the reading of useful and entertaining authors.” -Joseph Addison

One Comment on “Wild Angels- Martina McBride”

  1. Debbie Dabbs says:

    I also love those books! Some of the best, and a great reminder of God’s faithfulness. I’ll be praying for you and your commitment to read on a regular basis. You know how us Dabbs love you! Come see us!
    love you….Miz Debbie


Leave a Reply

