Should’ve Been a Cowboy- Toby Keith

The other morning (yesterday, maybe? I don’t know.) I tweeted at Kristin Mardis and told her that you can definitely tell when nothing is going on in our lives because we don’t have anything to blog about! Ha! As opposed to Chandler and Little Feeney, who, when they don’t blog, it’s because you assume they are having crazy-awesome adventures while abroad.

Of course, this past weekend I did go to Athens, but I was there for less than 18 hours and took 2 pictures of nothing, so I don’t really feel the need to share the pictures. But I did have a lot of fun. It was the first weekend I had to miss something because of work (and it was the first weekend I worked, go figure) and I was pretty super depressed about it. We have something for the sorority every year called International Reunion Day (IRD) and alums come back and theres a luncheon and speaker and then that night, all of the alumni have a cocktail party and go out. Most of my pledge class had decided to go back and I was VERY excited for us all to get together again and spend the day together. Alas, it was not meant to be. But we did have plans that night to go to Shokitini and do karaoke. So I jumped on the chance to do that.

After all, the last time we did karaoke was for Iz’s birthday and that produced such classic pictures like these. (Btw, sorry they’re all fuzzy, but my old camera hated it’s life. Probably because I may or may not have dropped it a few times, but that’s beside the point.)

(And anyone that denies that Kathleen has the BEST facial expressions, is clearly fooling themselves. Hehehehe!)

But anyway, after the karaoke, we just went out and Alec and Billy came and met us downtown. Honestly, it was a pretty uneventful night, but it was fun, still, for sure.

Sunday morning, I woke up early and headed back to Atlanta to go to work and then I hit up my next place of residence in The Great Tour of All of My Friends Homes that Reside in Atlanta Until I Find A Place To Live and headed to Sarah’s! Yay! Monday night we went to Bible Study and then on Tuesday (yesterday) we were supposed to have a softball game, but the other team forfeited so we watched the Braves losing to the Phillies and then everyone else went to bed and I talked on the phone and surfed the internet and read because I just figured the Braves were going to lose (they were down 3-0 in the top of the 8th, I had reason to believe that) but they came back and won and now I’m pissed at myself that I didn’t finish watching it. But, oh well.

I have today and tomorrow off. Tonight we’re grilling out and I’m going to make some brownies and then tomorrow we’re going to the Braves game. So now I’m going to watch Gossip Girl and Glee since I’ve missed them this week (the horror, I know!) and shower and go the grocery store and basically just lay around.

I finished 2 more books in The Kensington Chronicles: Wings of the Morning and Who Brings Forth the Wind. In fact, I stayed up all night last night reading Who Brings Forth. Redic.

Haha the second one is so tiny and cute!

Okay, and since this is yet another random, boring post, I’m going to leave you with this poem that I found and loved and definitely needed to hear this week. I love Shel Silverstein’s books and writing. It’s child-like and innocent, but still touching and beautiful.

God says to me with kind of a smile,

“Hey how would you like to be God awhile

And steer the world?”

“Okay,” says I, “I’ll give it a try.

Where do I sit?

How much do I get?

What time is lunch?

When could I quit?”

“Gimme back that wheel,” says God,

“I don’t think you’re quite ready yet.”

Oh, and one last thing. I felt lead to sponsor a child through Compassion through trips that they take bloggers on. The last trip they took was to Kenya and right now, there are only SEVENTEEN children left to be sponsored in Kenya! How AMAZING!!! So, if you feel lead to do this, I strongly encourage you to go to Compassion’s website and check it out. I know that money is tight for all of us now, but how easy is it to cut back on a few wants or even “essentials” to help save a child’s life and give them hope? If you want to read more, visit any of the blogs under my “People I Want to Know.” I think they’ve all been on a Compassion trip and you can find out more and read about their trips on their blogs.

Happy Wednesday!



2 Comments on “Should’ve Been a Cowboy- Toby Keith”

  1. Alec Pierce says:

    Thats the beauty of baseball sloaner. Earl Weaver said it best. “You can’t sit on a lead and run a few plays into the line and just kill the clock. You’ve got to throw the ball over the damn plate and give the other man his chance. That’s why baseball is
    the greatest game of them all.” And it is

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      I like that quote, even though a) I disagree that baseball is the “greatest game of them all” and b) you ruined SK’s comment being the magic number.


Leave a Reply

