Circle of Life- Elton John

Of all of the Real Housewives, Alex McCord has the most unique style. And that is totally a compliment. If I see LuAnn in anymore one-shoulder dresses with that gold thing, I may scream. So when Alex tweeted about a ring she was wearing, I had to check out the designer. His name is Brad Walsh and apparently he’s a DJ that makes jewelry on the side. Well, I think we all know which avenue I think he should choose! He has an Etsy store, and I fell in love with this ring! And it’s really well priced. If I had a job, I would totally buy it.

While I was at the beach with my girls, I did a little reading. Actually, I guess I did a little re-reading. I’ve already read both of these books, but I love them both.

I love Mary Kay Andrews’ books. They are funny and set in the south. Hissy Fit is actually set in Madison, which is a small town 20 minutes from Greensboro.

I also re-read Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller. It’s been several years since I’ve read this book and now I’m thinking I need to re-read it at least once a year. I love this book, I love his writing style. I got burned out on the love stories, so I needed a book to make me think and/or laugh.

Okay, so I just found out that Blue Like Jazz is being made into a movie. But I can’t figure out when it’s coming out or anything. Here is an article about it, but it says they want to release the movie in early 2009. And I don’t think that’s happened.

I also read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. Yet another re-read, but a must read and re-read for everyone, I think. A lot of people say this is the best book they’ve ever read. I’m not sure if I can go that far. But it’s pretty close if it’s not. It’s based on the book of Hosea in the Bible. I need to read that book of the Bible. It’s funny (not really) because the book is about a man that loves a prostitute, but she doesn’t love him. And she leaves him and hurts him again and again, but he keeps going after her and loving her. And I was thinking about how most people that I know, if they did that, I would think they were crazy and dumb. But then I realized that God does that for me again and again and again. Wow.

I also re-read The Nanny Diaries. Hilarious. The girls that wrote it wrote a sequel. I want to find it and read it.

Carrie Underwood got married in Greensboro today at the Ritz. I was watching E! News yesterday and they said she was getting married in Greensboro, GA. Crazy! And it was on their website. It makes me wish I had gotten a job there so I could meet her! Haha yeah, right.

Independence Day is on TV right now. I love that movie. When I was in 5th grade, I had some teeth pulled to make room for my braces. To say it was traumatizing would be an understatement. I requested Independence Day and SpiceWorld as my recovery movies. I just realized the Blair’s mom on Gossip Girl is in the movie. At our graduation, the student speaker ended with the speech from the movie that the President gives.

Good morning. In less than an hour, aircraft from here will join others from around the world. And you will be launching the largest aerial battle in the history of mankind. “Mankind.” That word should have new meaning for all of us today. We can’t be consumed by our petty differences anymore. We will be united in our common interests. Perhaps it’s fate that today is the Fourth of July, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom… Not from tyranny, oppression, or persecution… but from annihilation. We are fighting for our right to live. To exist. And should we win the day, the Fourth of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day the world declared in one voice: “We will not go quietly into the night!” We will not vanish without a fight! We’re going to live on! We’re going to survive! Today we celebrate our Independence Day!

Legit.

2 Comments on “Circle of Life- Elton John”

  1. Debbie says:

    I have a few suggestions for fabulous reading material….A Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff. The Mountain Between Us by Charles Martin, Gone With The Wind….you know this one, Margaret Mitchell. Did you know the book is not like the movie? I’m reading it and totally mesemorized! The verbage, places, it’s amazing! Everyone should read this classic, because you think you know the story if you’ve seen the movie…..do yourself a favor, read the book! Also, Rooms by James L. Rubart. You would love all of these Sloan. Also, have you ever read any of Elizabeth Musser….start with The Swan House. All about Atlanta during THE day! Consider this a gift, the gift of reading is the best! love you as always…..Debbie

  2. sloandefyinggravity says:

    Dang Miss Debbie! I’m going to have to get to reading if I’m going to read all of those PLUS the ones already on my bookshelf! I actually have a copy of GWTW and started reading it a really long time ago, but never finished it. I’d probably appreciate it a lot more now, though. Miss you!


Leave a Reply

