Love Story- Taylor Swift

Just a warning that is is probably THE. LONGEST. POST. EVER. But it spans 5 years and is very special to me. And it’s worth it.)

I’ve been writing this post in my head for over a week. I desperately wanted to do it justice because this is a big, happy thing that deserves a lot of attention and to be special. I hate that it’s taken me so long to write it, but I just can’t throw something like this together. It needs to be done right.

Brittany and Ross are two of my favorite people ever. (Cue the water works.) I know that I say that about a lot of people, but for reals, these two are at the top of that list. And definitely my favorite couple. I can’t tell you how many time I’ve tagged along with them at different things. A.K.A. been the third wheel. But have never felt like the third wheel. The couple that can do that is rare indeed.

Brittany and I have been friends since freshman year. We are in the same sorority, but we truly didn’t hang out together very much during that year. I think this is the first picture I have of the 2 of us, and we didn’t even really know each other at the time. It’s from our first social. (Yes, she is wearing a blue sequined dress and I look like a Chippendale’s dancer. Good times.)

This is the first time we hung out together freshman year, just the 2 of us. We had planned on a group of us going to the last basketball game of the season but for one reason or another, everyone else backed out. I remember picking her up from her dorm and us talking who she was rooming with in the house. Ha! (It’s pretty fuzzy. Sad.)

And this is of us at Dance Marathon that same year. We did it together for the next 2 years and were even on the same committee the last year.

Okay, moving on from the walk down Memory Lane. I could do this forever.

Ross and Brittany started dating the beginning of freshman year. When we moved into the house, Brittany and I got a lot closer. I don’t remember the first time I met Ross, but this is the first picture I have of him and Peaser.

And thus began my tenure as their official photographer.

This is at Formal sophomore year. We were in the parking lot of the sorority house, mixing drinks (a MAJOR no-no but at least we weren’t doing it in the house I guess?), when a cop pulled in the parking lot and we FREAKED. But it was just one of the girl’s aunts coming to see her. Whew. And I cannot bypass this picture without commenting on how young Ross looks! So funny!

The 3 of us at Formal, later in the night. We all look a lot… happier.

Here is us at Dance Marathon that year for ’80s hour.

During Junior year, Brittany and I started hanging out more, just the 2 of us. On MWF, I would go eat lunch at the house and then we would drive ~7 people to class. We’d come back to the house and hang out in her, Claire, and Callan’s room until I had to go back to class. Those were some of my favorite times. That probably was about the time we started telling each other everything. Ha!

Brittany and Ross from the Auburn game Junior year. Best. Game. EVEEEEER.

Peaser’s 21st birthday! Obviously, I was very excited. Not sure if this was before or after the Tequila Shot of Death that Jami talked us into. Lots of funny stories from this night; too many for the blog.

From Callan, Iz, and my 21st “Extravaganza.” Crazy night. Geez. Pease’s hair is so long! And disposable cameras make you look really washed out!

This one is from Callan/Iz’s 21st bday night. It’s too funny not to share. This is from around the time that Peaser’s greatest dream was to be the first white, female rap star.

Despite all of these happy pictures, Junior year wasn’t so hot for me. I had a lot of sad things happen involving certain people that are just too complicated to rehash. And not the point of the post AT ALL. But as a result of all that, I ended up moving back into the sorority house and living with Peaser for our last semester of college together. And it was the best thing that ever happened to me.

Anyone that could put up with me and my mess and crazy schedule was a saint. Or just really the best friend ever. It made me realize that there were some people out there that were understanding if class and projects were crazy and I didn’t see them for over 48 hours. That it really didn’t matter and they would still be there when I did have time.

Braves date night Senior year. A night of ridiculousness.

This picture makes me laugh because Ross looks festive and I don’t. But that was not the case. At all.

GA/Bama game Senior year. Sad, sad day.

We carved a pumpkin together. Or rather, she scooped and I carved. We make a pretty good team.

Peaser’s 22nd.

For my 22nd birthday, I got a Wii and brought it back to the house. It got a ton of use, just not by me. One night, I ran back to the house to change clothes and run back to the studio and Peaser and Sarah Kate were playing the Wii. I got back to the studio and freaked out and started crying because I never had time to play my Wii and I didn’t want my life to be like this and I wanted to be able to go to my kids’ soccer games. (It really wasn’t about the Wii, it was about the fact that I was never around to hang out with my friends and I missed them and I was exhausted and stressed on top of that. Sometimes, you just need a nervous breakdown every so often.) A few days later, Brittany and I were in our room talking and she told me that they always tried to turn the Wii off when they thought I might be coming home because they didn’t want me to see them playing it and be sad that I never got to. I laughed and told her that actually that very night I had actually left and freaked out sobbing about it but I was over it by that point.

Formal Senior Year at Harry Bissets. I’m going to sacrifice myself for this picture because Ross and Brittany look great in it.

But at least in this one, we’re all smiling, so I’m going to post it too, even though Brittany has her eyes closed.

And since this is an equal opportunity blog (at least when it comes to embarrassment), here is one of Ross.

Ross and Brittany at Graduation. My parents had already booked a trip to Vegas, so they couldn’t come. It really didn’t matter because I wasn’t actually graduating. But I did walk because I wanted to walk with my classmates and walk in Sanford Stadium. Peaser was in the same college, so she sat with us! Afterwards, Chance and I went back to her uncle’s house for lunch. Her family really has almost become my family.

After Graduation, I didn’t know what was going to happen, friendship-wise. I knew that we would always be friends, but that it would be harder and we would have to put more effort into seeing each other and talking to each other. What I didn’t realize is that we would grow even closer because of it. Yes, it wasn’t easy and we had to be more intentional about it, but at the same time, it was easier than I thought it would be because really the only thing that had changed was our locations.

She came to Athens and spent the weekend with me before a football game and went to a Mute Math concert.

Apparently I didn’t take many pictures of us together this spring, but this is from the Tim McGraw/Lady Antebellum concert we went to with Ross, Kathleen, Avery, and Michelle.

Us at the Braves game during the rain delay before Bekah’s wedding.

In June, I was on my way to a job fair when I decided to give Peaser a call. It had been a few days since we had talked and I was going to be bored during my ride. She told me she “had a story for me.” She had gotten home from her swim meet the night before. It was around 11 and her parents were just eating dinner. Of course, she asked why they were eating so late. “Well,” Miss Sharon replied, “we had a visitor.” Obviously Brittany wanted to know who and so after stalling for a minute, her parents told her it was Ross. “Ross! Why didn’t he come see me at my swim meet, then?” “Well, he wanted to talk to us about something. He wanted to ask us if he could MARRY YOU!!!!”

Well holy catch-me-off-guard Batman! I mean, we knew it was coming, but now we knew.

So last Saturday, when Sarah and I were enjoying our Holcombs, my phone rang. I looked at it and Peaser’s sweet face was staring back at me with a DDP can on each cheek, to keep her cool. (She use to do that when it was hot in our room, so it’s the picture on my phone for her.)

And I just stared at it for a minute. Because I knew she was hanging out with Ross right then.

“Heeeeelllllllloooooo…” I said, slowly.

“Heeeeeeeyyyyyyy…” Peaser replied.

(Okay, can I just tell you, every time I think about it, every time I tell the story, even right now while I’m writing this, I have the ridiculous smile on my face. And I get chills. Even though it’s 700 degrees outside. Dang it’s been a hot summer.)

“Sooooooo….”

“I’M ENGAGED!!!!!!!”

So she proceeded to tell me the story of how Ross took her to the aquarium and then they were walking around Centennial Park. They turned a corner and there was a champagne bottle and 2 glasses surrounded by rose petals. She knelt down to look at it and the label on the bottle said “Brittany and Ross Will you marry me? July 31, 2010.” When she turned around, Ross was on one knee.

And I think you know what happened next….

So today I headed to Alpharetta to see Peaser and THE RING and eat lunch and talk about everything and nothing. We looked through magazines and picked out flowers and bridesmaid’s dresses and even a few wedding dresses that she liked. We talked veils and food and drinks and D.J.s and shoes and anything else you can think of and probably a few things you can’t.

It’s funny because I’ve had my wedding planned for years. At least certain parts of it and Brittany doesn’t hardly know any of what she wants. But she does know what she doesn’t want, so that’s a start. Ha!

Ross got back from work and we read him The Knot’s Guide for the Groom and quizzed him. He may be over the wedding talk already. Haha.

Then I snapped a few pictures.

The ring is perfect. And so her. It was her grandmother’s. I love that.

Haha I think Ross is excited about planning a wedding!!

Prom pose! I just love them. I’m so excited!!!!

May 28th! (They think!) Let the countdown begin!!!!!

“My whole heart for my whole life.” -French saying

2 Comments on “Love Story- Taylor Swift”

  1. Pease says:

    ahhhh I love this.

  2. Kathleen says:

    Ahhh I love this, too. I got goosebumps when I read this post and whenever i think about Brittany calling on Saturday. So Happy. And I love the two of you and your friendship with each other – it’s extremely admirable :)


Leave a Reply

