The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

*Disclaimer: For every book that I read on my Book List, I want to write what I thought about it. I hesitate to use the word ‘review,’ because despite popular belief, I am not a literary critic. I read to be entertained and that’s about it. So if I don’t really like it, that’s all I care about. You’ve been warned.

Hmmm. The Picture of Dorian Gray. Well, I hated it, liked it, didn’t like it, liked it better, then was okay with how it ended. Truthfully, if it hadn’t been on the list, I probably wouldn’t have finished it. It took me a while to get into and then finish. Also it’s why I haven’t read many books lately, because I’ve been trying to get through it.

I also hated all most of the characters. They were all ass-hats, douchelords (thank you, Khloe Kardashian-Odum), and just all around self-centered and annoying. Everything they did was solely for their own pleasure. (Which I guess is the point of the book, but seriously?) I just don’t like characters that I can’t get behind or cheer for or at least have some redeeming quality.

Also, Wilde has a way of describing things that seems like bragging. You know how people will say, instead of, “Hand me my purse,” they’ll say, “Hand me my (insert designer name) purse.” Seriously, I don’t care. He would say, “such and such kind of table,” instead of just calling it a freaking table. And then there would be a footnote where I would learn that it was some kind of mahogany table inlaid with ivory and gold and turtles or something else stupid. I. Don’t. Care.

Okay, that being said, I might read it again, but probably not. I can see how people like it think it’s a classic. Sometimes I like books better after I know the story line and understand what’s going to happen. Sorry this is kind of a downer for the first book, but… oh, well. That’s my opinion. Feel free to disagree with me!

Leave a Reply

