Thanksgiving, Take 1

Once again, what a weekend! One might be tempted to think that since Georgia’s football team had the weekend off, I would do the same. But one would be wrong, wrong, wrong. I had more important things to do.

Like go see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1.

And hang out with friends.

And have a practice Thanksgiving with friends.

So on Friday, I hauled my butt back up to Atlanta to meet Sarah, her friend Katie from work, Matt (Sarah’s brother) and Sarah and Matt’s mom for the movie. And I LOVED it!!! It was great! They hit major plot points and the movie moved really fast and well. Don’t go see it if you haven’t at least seen the other movies and maybe even have read the books because I highly doubt you will know what’s going on. But you SHOULD read the books and see the movies because they are great!

Saturday, I slept in and then baked and tried to help Sarah figure out how to defrost a turkey. We ended up sticking them in ice water and then putting them in the shower for easy access to cold water. Ever since Gretchen on Project Runway wore braided pigtails, I’ve been wanting to rock them. So I chose Saturday even though I probably looked ridiculous with my plaid shirt and mocs too. I love a theme outfit. That afternoon, Ryan and I just hung out and watched some awesome football games (that I honestly thought would be pretty boring) and then watched Crazy Heart. It was a great movie and there were definitely times where it didn’t even seem like we were watching a movie, just observing people in their life. I highly recommend it!

On Sunday, I woke up and went with Mom and some of the girls from the lake to see Shane’s house that he decorated. This house was 22,000 square feet and INSANE. It had a huge movie theater, a hair salon, and more living rooms than I could count. Every single room had a different chandelier and there were over 300 lamps in this house. All of the sinks and faucets were gold. It was crazy. Here were a few of my favorite rooms.

And while I was doing that, everyone else was at the house preparing the feast. I got back just in time to see them drop the turkey in the grease!

Sarah took this video as Alec was dropping the turkey in. I will admit, it’s a tad anti-climatic due to nothing catching on fire. And I am totally A-OK with that!

Success!!! It tasted even better than it looked.

Billy had the honor of cutting the bird.

We had tons and tons of food. It was all SO. GOOD.

The surprise hit of the night was Matt Kinney’s peanut butter pie. It was amazing. He hand-grated that chocolate on the top. Then he helped clean up afterwards. And ladies, he is single and hilarious! Snatch him up while he’s still available!

After we ate, we watched the Falcons game, which they won, thank goodness, Sarah, Ryan and I watched Sarah Palin’s Alaska, and then declared we were ready for Christmas.

I really do love this time of year.

“Thanksgiving, man. Not a good day to be my pants.” -Kevin James

Leave a Reply

