SSMT Ephesians 5:8

This is my third verse with the Siesta Scripture Memory Team and it has been wonderful!!! Bethie said before we started that one of the best things is that instead of focusing on the negative, we would meditate on our scripture for the week. She was SO RIGHT. (And she just seems like the kind of person you would call Bethie right from the start. Like she would immediately be your best friend. So I hope she doesn’t mind.)

I usually just flip through my Bible and look at different scripture that I’ve underlined and pick whichever one strikes my fancy. This week’s was Ephesians 5:8.

For once you were darkness but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light.

I copied it down in my spiral and re-read it. I immediately thought, “I’ve left out the word ‘in.’ It should be you were once IN darkness.” So I re-read it out of my Bible, and lo and behold, I had written in correctly.

LIGHTBULB!

How much more POWERFUL is that? I wasn’t IN darkness, I WAS darkness!! And now, because of Jesus, I AM light!

When I think of children, the first thing I think of is joy. Children have this complete joy about them. As corny as this may sound, all I could think of was a little girl skipping through a field with a rainbow and butterflies. And she’s just glowing.

I realize that sometimes, life just isn’t all butterflies and rainbows. But through Jesus, we are light. And that is a wonderful feeling.

One Comment on “SSMT Ephesians 5:8”

  1. Kristin says:

    Love this!!


Leave a Reply

