Rollercoaster

I really like rollercoasters. I like being scared a little bit (in a safe way) and living on the edge.

These past few weeks, though, have been a rollercoaster of emotions. I’m a pretty even keeled person. I go through life mostly happy. I’m a positive person and am usually able to see the bright side of things, but even these past weeks have been enough to kick my butt.

On the 14th (Monday), I left my internship and started a new job with a new company. I got thrown in the deep end, but I was ready to doggy paddle and make it work. I was ready for the challenge and the new start, even though I was sad to be leaving this group of people I had grown to love.

That Friday night, Mama called me to tell me they had to put Gretta down. I knew it was coming, but I had hoped they could wait until I could come home and say goodbye. She had been sick for a while and she just got worse and worse. She was really our first “family” dog. We had other dogs growing up, but she’s the one that I will always think of and remember. We found her when I was in the 8th grade. Or really, she found us. She LOVED my mama and me, but Mama was her favorite. She followed her around everywhere. Even when at the end, Mama said she would drag herself to the bathroom after her. Even though she only weighed about 6 pounds, the house just seems so empty without her.

On Saturday, Georgia clinched the SEC East and officially was going to the SEC Championship. If you had told me that after our 0-2 start, getting routed by Boise St. and beating ourselves against S. Carolina, I would have never believed it. I thought for sure people would be calling for Coach Richt’s head. But they aren’t and they (whoever “they” is) even are saying he should be the runner-up SEC coach of the year. I love that man and have always thought he was the right person to lead our team. Now I know he is.

Monday, I went into work and was promptly fired. Yes, after a week. I was so shocked I couldn’t believe it. Now I realize that God was looking out for me and getting me out of what would not be a good situation for me. I could go into it more, but this is a public blog, so I won’t. But Ryan was a rockstar and left work to come hang out with me and give me a hug and tell me it would be ok and that he would be my sugar daddy if I needed him to be. I told him I would be okay, but thanked him anyway. ;)

This just meant that I got to go to Charlotte earlier than I thought for Thanksgiving. We were staying with my cousins who bought my grandparents’ house. It was hard to go there and see it so different and remember all of the good times we had there. I have so many memories in that house. It was good though and they seem happy and now their kids are building memories there. And not everything had changed. Little, random things that probably not many other people would notice, but I did.

After Monday, I emailed Jillian and explained to her what happened and that I was interested in returning to my internship, if they would have me. She had made it clear that at the end of it, I would be hired, if I chose to stay. I spoke with her yesterday and we worked it all out, so I am now back where I belong! Today was my first day back and it was like I never left. I missed them and am so happy to be back.

I don’t think this rollercoaster is over. Really, I don’t think it ever will be. Because that’s life- full of highs and lows. But we are blessed because God remains constant and the same, always and forever.

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
Thy own dear presence to cheer and to guide
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow
Blessings all mine with ten thousand beside
Great is thy faithfulness! Great is thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see
All I have needed, thy hand hath provided
Great is thy faithfulness, Lord unto me.

 

One Comment on “Rollercoaster”

  1. Cathy Rhodes says:

    So sorry that you’ve had this tough ride and so happy that the tunnel was short and the light at the end is constant and bright.


Leave a Reply

