Christmas Home Tour

Welcome to my little abode! I live here with my 3 roommates, Sarah, Annie and Whitney. We are all in our mid-twenties, recently graduated college and trying to make our way in the world. So Christmas around here is spelled c-h-e-a-p. Yep, cheap. That means lots of plants from our yard, toilet paper rolls (thank you, Pinterest!) and book pages. We simply used what we had (and our mothers’ leftover decorations and did a little to make it feel like Christmas around here!

We rent a house that was built around 1960 and hasn’t been updated since except to slap some white paint on the walls and throw down some cheap carpet.

One of the best parts about our house is that we have a real, working fireplace and mantle! I don’t know what I’ll do if I ever live in a house that doesn’t have a mantle. Sarah put up the greenery from our yard and the tree and some Christmas balls and I made a garland out of book pages. And then we hung our stockings with care.

I cut some holly out of the yard and put it on the window sill above the sink. It’s the little things, to me.

And the dining area! We decorated the loverly railing with a wreath I bought in college from the Habitat Home Store and some garland from Sarah’s mom and of course, my book page garland. I like the homey quality the wreath had. It seemed like something my grandmother would have had.

The door to the hall has a wreath that I made last year. It’s not perfect and it needs some work, but I still really like it. It has a kitschy 60’s quality to it, I think.

And the grand finale, our buffet and tree! I love our tree. I don’t really like theme trees. They’re just not my style. My mom has never really just gone out and bought a bunch of ornaments that match to put on the tree. We’ve collected them from places we’ve traveled and they all have memories attached to them, so I guess that’s where I get it from.

The buffet, we just added some garland and a poinsettia. (One day, I will paint that buffet red. And it will be like Christmas all year round! But I haven’t gotten to it yet, obviously.)

And our tree! We love it! Even our scraggly little angel on top. I should have taken a close-up, but I forgot. Oops. I definitely lusted after the flocked trees when we went and bought this one, but they just don’t smell.

I made these ornaments from paper towel and toilet paper rolls. So cheap and easy, but they took forever to paint! The paint just kept soaking right up. But I love the way they turned out, so totally worth it.

I LOOOOOOOOOOVE my owls! I think they turned out super cute! I want to make a lot more now! This little grey guy is my favorite, but I did them in all different colors.

I made this one from ornament I saw on Pinterest. Yes, the mustache thing is random and cheesy, but I love it.

Gotta represent the Griffindors in the house! Me and Whitney! Sarah’s in Ravenclaw and Annie could care less about HP.

Somehow, I started a squirrel ornament collection this year. I collect squirrels because they were our sorority mascot and I think they’re funny. Just when I find random ones around, I pick them up. Jamie got me the first one for my birthday, I bought the second one from our store, and Jillian bought me the last one when she heard I collected them.

And of course, my pride and joy, the garland! It was so easy! Just a book from Goodwill, a few Martha Stewart paper punches, red thread and my sewing machine. Our house is covered in this stuff!

Well, I think that about wraps it up! Thanks for visiting our little house!

I’m linking up to The Nester’s Christmas Tour of Home and also to Kelly’s Korner Show Us Your Life Christmas. Some people would call that cheating. I call it killing 2 birds with 1 stone.

6 Comments on “Christmas Home Tour”

  1. We are super cute! I love it all!

  2. Jen Henson says:

    I love your tree decor! Very creative. I’m a sucker for handmade ornaments. =) Beautiful Christmas decor!

  3. Melanie says:

    I love your house and your ornament stashing through the snow!

  4. Your post made me nostalgic for holidays with roommates. I freaking loved the stache ornament. I bet you guys had a blast decorating! Glad I wandered over!

  5. […] can read about the rest of our decorating in Sloan’s post.  I just love our house at […]

  6. cassie says:

    i love the holly and all the woodland creatures! :)


Leave a Reply

