A Mediocre Recipe

Let’s face it. I’m not a great cook. I’m intimidated by throwing food together and it rarely tastes great. Also, I’m a lazy cook. I don’t want to take a lot of time cooking for myself after I get home and I don’t want to have to do a lot of different things. And, I’m a cheap cook. I don’t want to spend a ton of money on a bunch of ingredients I’ll use once. So there’s all that.

I swear, everything I say has to have a back story. Now here’s another one.

I pin a lot of things. Too many things that I’ve never actually done. So, my new goal is to do one thing I’ve pinned a week. Whether it’s a recipe or a craft project or whatever.

So this week, I found a recipe that I’ve pinned to cook. It had all (most) of the necessary requirements: cheap, didn’t take long, a recipe.

Source: thekitchn.com via Sloan on Pinterest

And, it was okay. Honestly, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. I had minced garlic, so I didn’t want to buy whole cloves to roast so I just sauteed the minced garlic. Also, I added a cucumber. And I used skim ricotta and greek plain yogurt because I couldn’t find regular whole fat. But still. It was mediocre. Salt helped. But I’m not sure the roasted garlic and whole milk ricotta would have made that much of a difference. Oh, well. Try again next time.

So we can cross that one off the list.

2 Comments on “A Mediocre Recipe”

  1. Robyn says:

    I’m mad on Pinterest at the moment. I like the idea of doing one thing a week, I might even make a board just for that…is that wrong?? Good luck with your weekly pinning challenge.

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      Nope! I think that’s a great idea- to have a board for that. In fact, I was planning on doing the same thing.


Leave a Reply

