For me, there’s a guy…..

An embarrassing fact about me: Sometimes, I randomly write blog posts in my head. For example, I started one on Saturday talking about the awesome, low-key weekend we had, seeing Hunger Games, going to dinner and just hanging out. When, in fact, last weekend turned into the one of the most memorable and life-changing that I’ve ever had.

Let me start at the beginning. Friday night, I convinced Ryan to go see The Hunger Games with me, Sarah, Whitney, and a few other people. He doesn’t typically enjoy the same movies I do, especially the ones that originated as books. (Harry Potter, Twilight, mostly. Although I could handle him not liking Twilight, but the HP thing kills me. Anyway.) But I keep trying and hoping. Of course, he didn’t like it.

Saturday morning, I woke up, showered and got dressed. We had a normal day at work and Ryan texted me around 3:30 or so and asked if I would be able to leave right at 5 because we had dinner plans that night. I told him that I should be able to, forgetting the fact that our parking lot was being repaved on Monday, so Ashley and I had to “bar the door” from any scents that might escape in. So I ended up not leaving until 5:45. During that time, Ryan had called me twice and texted 3 times to figure out where I was.

On my way to his house, I called Mama just to talk because I figured I wouldn’t really have a chance to the rest of the weekend. When I finally got to Ryan’s house, I sat in my car for a few more minutes, finishing up talking to her, just about nothing, really. I finally got off the phone and went in the house. Ryan greeted me at the door, but I figured it was because he was starving and ready to go eat. We were planning to go to a barbeque place, Swallow at the Hollow, where he had a gift card. His roommate, David, was in the kitchen, so I went in and talked to him for a few minutes and then I had to eat my honey for my allergies. (Worst year ever for Georgia. Seriously.) We talked for a few minutes and finally, Ryan said he was going to shower and change. Honestly, I was a little disappointed because I like the t-shirt he had on. As I was walking up the stairs to his room, I commented that he was in a really good mood.

We got upstairs and when I opened the door, I just saw this mess of pictures all over his floor. My first thought was, ‘What the heck has he been doing all day?’ Then slowly, I realized they were all pictures of the two of us. And then, I realized they spelled out “MARRY ME?”

(Ryan was standing behind me and he said he could tell by my body language that first I was super confused, and then when I finally figured it out, I stood up super straight.)

I turned around and he was getting down on one knee, smiling the biggest smile I’ve ever seen. For a few seconds (if felt like eternity), he just sat down there, holding the ring box, and I stared at him. Then he started talking. I have no idea what he said, mostly because I think I was thinking, ‘Is this a joke? Is this for real?’ All I remember was he said somewhere in there, “you are my rock.” Where, I have no idea. And he has no idea what he said either. I suppose it will be lost for eternity.

But then he asked, “Will you marry me?”

And at some point, I said, “Yes!” And he put the ring on my finger. And I just laughed. I was in total shock! I always thought that I would kinda know or figure out when he was going to ask me. I totally knew when he kissed me for the first time, asked me to be his girlfriend, and said I love you. But this, he completely shocked me.

In the best way.

We called all of our parents and grandparents and siblings. Our parents were the only people that knew. Mama said when I got off the phone with her, she looked at Daddy and said, “She has no idea what is about to happen. She’s just going on about work and her friends and everything.”

Ryan and I got in the car and headed to go to the restaurant. Ryan was telling me we were still going to Swallow. As we were pulling out of the driveway, I asked if we could go to Tanaka (which is where we had our first date and have gone for other special dates). He looked at me and said, “Do you know me? Of course we’re going to Tanaka.” Not only did we go to Tanaka, but he had reserved “our” table for us too!

Best sushi I’ve ever eaten.

My fiance (eeee!!!) paying for dinner. He looks so manly with that flowered pen.

After we finished dinner, we spent the rest of the night calling all of our friends! Sarah came up to Ryan’s house and we celebrated with champagne! Ryan made fun of all the girls yelling. And I think he got tired of hearing over and over about how he proposed.

We’re so excited!!

Oh my gosh! There’s so much to do!

And of course, a few other things I just want to remember:
-Right after he proposed, we were just running up and down the stairs and Ryan’s back pocket where he had pulled the ring out was still pulled out of his shorts. It was precious.
-This is my blog post about our first date. You have to search pretty hard for it. I’m so happy that I have our relationship recorded, even though I tried not to talk about all the mushy stuff.
-And because I’m super nosy and always want to see other people’s rings, here’s mine! I LOVE it!!! We think it’s from around 1910 and the diamond is surrounded by emeralds. Green is my favorite color. And the color of Ryan’s eyes. (All bets are off about the mushy stuff.)

We are so excited and happy to start our lives together as a family! Between getting engaged and my birthday on Tuesday, I’ve been on a high from all of the congratulations and well wishes. It has been a whirlwind! I’ve only freaked out a few times about the fact that we’re going to be married and planning the wedding of the century. Oh, wait. Kate Middleton already did that. Well that takes a lot off my plate! But really, at the end of the day, the only thing that really matters is that we will be husband and wife. And we will be. :)

Thank you to everyone for all of the congratulations and love. For the prayers and support. We could truly could not have made it this far without God and our families and friends. We are so truly blessed.

3 Comments on “For me, there’s a guy…..”

  1. Iz says:

    so excited!! yay! the ring is PERFECT!! can’t wait to see it in person on Monday! Love you!

  2. Cathy Rhodes says:

    I couldn’t be happier for you both!!!

  3. […] was a polarizing year for me. One of my favorite years and one of my least favorite. Ryan and I were engaged, and my Mimi was diagnosed with cancer. 2013 will probably be a little similar in that respect- […]


Leave a Reply

