A Lesson About Pride on Good Friday

To say that the last 2 weeks have been ca-razy would be an understatement. Let’s recap, shall we?

Saturday (March 24, to be exact)- Engagement
Sunday- Dinner with Ryan’s family
Tuesday- my birthday
Thursday- dinner with Ryan’s dad
Saturday- went home to the Boro
Sunday- church, Mama’s quilt show, drove around and looked at reception cites, drove back to Atlanta
Monday- breakfast with Pease, went into to work, dinner with Iz
Tuesday- dinner with Jamie
Wednesday- date night

Yes, that’s a LOT. Plus, work thrown in there, also and all of the other little things that come with living.

So that brings us to Thursday. Yesterday. I was supposed to have dinner with the sorority girls and then head home to do book club with Jamie, Sarah and Kacina over Skype. But that didn’t happen.

On my way to dinner, I got into a (minor) car accident. It ended up being both our faults, but that doesn’t really matter. Basically, my car started leaking this lime green fluid and steaming. For all of you non-car people (that’s me!), my radiator busted. Awesome. So, I can’t drive it. I called Ryan and he came from Alpharetta and drove me all the way back to the Boro to get a car. (Of course this would happen the night my mom is out of town so my parents can’t meet us halfway.) We stayed last night and got up at 4:45 (kill. me.) to drive back to Atlanta this morning.

I spent all night last night and this morning feeling sorry for myself. My pride was hurt, more than anything. (Well, my car, too.) I just felt dumb and irresponsible.

But this morning, when I got home, I checked Twitter and realized it was Good Friday. I knew that it was, but all of a sudden, it hit me like a ton of bricks.

Here I was, on Good Friday, feeling sorry for myself. When today is the day that Jesus prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane, “Father, take this cup from Me. But not my will, but yours.” When today is the day that Judas, one of Jesus’ “loyal” disciples brought 600 soldiers and betrayed him with a kiss. When Jesus was tried by Potius Pilot and sentenced to death on the cross. When Jesus accepted that death, not because he had to, but because he wanted to do what God placed him on this earth to do. Because he loved us. He loved us more than life.

And that is more important that me, or my pride, or anything else. That is the MOST important thing.

With a loud cry, Jesus breathed his last. The curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. And when the centurion, who stood there in front of Jesus, heard his cry and saw how he died, he said, “Surely this man was the Son of God.”

Mark 15:37-39

One Comment on “A Lesson About Pride on Good Friday”

  1. Jamie says:

    What a sweet lesson He shared with you today. Too often my pride gets in the way too, but I am glad that you shared that with us.
    Happy Good Friday and Happy Easter Sweet Sloan!


Leave a Reply

