Pinterest Challenge: Wreath, Bulldog Style

I actually do pretty well with making the food that I pin on Pinterest. It’s the craft projects that I get hung up on. So for the Summer Pinterest Challenge, I decided to tackle a wreath that I’ve had the supplies for for about 9 months now. It’s a fall/football season wreath, so I still have to wait 53 days until football season to actually use it. But I’m glad I went ahead and completed it for Georgia’s National Championship year.

Bahahahahahahahaha

Well, hopefully not.

ANYWAY. Onto the crafts.

This wreath was my inspiration. I loved the stripes and the flowers, how they almost took up half the wreath.

Source: nestofposies-blog.com via Sloan on Pinterest

I also had a lot different flower tutorials that I used. I killed several Pinterest birds with one stone. I also just made a few stacked circle flowers. 

Source: ahootandaholler.typepad.com via Sloan on Pinterest

 

Source: littlebitfunky.com via Sloan on Pinterest

 

Source: jonesdesigncompany.com via Sloan on Pinterest

(I have no idea why that middle picture is behaving that way and I won’t see my HTML expert until Wednesday, so it’s just going to have to stay that way. Sorry. Very professional, we are over here.)

Here is my “cast of characters.” I forgot the fabric scissors, but truly having scissors dedicated only to fabric will make any crafts MUCH easier. (That is my tip from this whole thing.) Striped fabric, felt in different colors, hot glue gun, buttons (to up the cuteness factor), and a styrofoam wreath.

Next time I make a wreath like this, I would love to try the pipe insulation idea, but I had already bought this wreath form. I was a little worried how it would work because it has squared edges, but I didn’t think you could tell the difference.

The first thing I did was cut the striped fabric. I just counted a certain number of stripes and started cutting. After a while, all those stripes made me start to go cross-eyed. (Speaking of that, this picture sucks.)

I just wrapped the fabric around and hot glued it. It’s a little wonky, but I like that about it.

All of the flowers I made were super easy and have great tutorials for them, so I didn’t do step-by-step. But they aren’t hard to figure out at all.

I didn’t get any pictures of the stacked flowers. Oops. But so easy.

Then I arranged them all on the wreath form and hot glued them down. (Hot glue is my other tip. I LOVE it!)

And my finished product!

And a few detail shots.

I love this wreath and think it’s so fun and festive! It would be so easy to change to fit any theme or holiday. A navy striped one with yellow flowers and green leaves would be so super cute! Hmm that may be a project for next summer!

But for now, this one makes me excited for football season! Goooooo Dawgs! Sic ’em!

5 Comments on “Pinterest Challenge: Wreath, Bulldog Style”

  1. Jamie says:

    Too cute Sloaner! I would like my own wreath tutorial please ma’am! Sounds like a great rainy Saturday idea!

  2. Iz says:

    Love it!!! Go Dawgs!!

  3. Erika says:

    Oh my GOSH!!! This looks fantastic!! I have made a bunch of yarn wreaths over the past year or so, but this one is particularly fab…love the ribbon instead of yarn, and the TONS of flowers. We need to have a flower-making date or something, because yours are way more exciting and varied than mine are!! Overall, A+ for this project!! Feel free to mail it to me! :)

  4. laurel says:

    Looks very Fourth of July too! Great job!

  5. such a fun idea! although I went to georgia tech and could never make a wreath in that color :) thanks for stopping by my blog today!


Leave a Reply

