Favor and Responsibility

“With God’s favor [blessing], comes responsibility.” -Curtis Jones

One of my favorite things to do when I’m in the car alone for long periods of time is listen to podcasts. The first ones I ever listened to were Big Mama and BooMama. (Thanks for the new one, I hope you don’t go as long next time….) Then I started listening to Andy Stanley after the recommendation of Lots of Scotts and my latest one is Curtis Jones at Bayou City Fellowship.

In the sermon, he was talking about the strands of The Christmas Story. (Yes, the podcast was from Christmas.) How every person has a different strand that all contribute to make up what we know as The Christmas Story- Zachariah and Elizabeth, Joseph, Mary, the Wise Men, the Shephards, Herod.

In this particular sermon, he was talking specifically about Mary. How she had God’s favor. How she had God’s blessing. How God had shown her His unusual kindness.

And how many times a day do we ask for God’s blessing? I know I do, every day, multiple times a day. “Lord, bless me. Bless Ryan. Bless our families. Bless my boss. Bless my job. Bless this friend. Bless that friend. Bless this random person. Bless that random person.”

But Curtis’s point was that with God’s favor, we have a responsibility. A job to do. Mary’s job was to give birth and raise God’s Son. While she was not yet married. While she was still young. And she would have to live with that stigma for the rest of her life. But she did it.

What is my responsibility? What has God called me to do? To care for the poor. The orphans. The widows. The homeless. I have been blessed beyond what I deserve. I am still trying to figure out exactly what that is. I have thoughts and ideas, but we will have to see where God leads. I can’t wait for that.

One Comment on “Favor and Responsibility”

  1. Erika says:

    Oooh that is totally awesome!! You should do it and sell it on Etsy (or somewhere)!!


Leave a Reply

