How about some more books?

These books posts are always nice when I don’t really have anything else to talk about.

I read Bossypants by Tina Fey on Sarah’s Kindle. It was nice because I didn’t have to look at that creepy cover. Seriously, who thought that was a good idea? As for the book itself, some parts were pretty funny and overall I liked it, but not love.

Next, I read a book I grabbed at a yard sale- The Matriarch by Charles MacKinnon. It was okay, but it’s going back in the yard sale pile. Not really something I would read again.

The next book was Little Alters Everywhere by Rebecca Wells. Now this book, I would totally read again. No way it’s going in the yard sale pile. Now I just need to find Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood at Goodwill.

I finally finished the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series when I read The Girl that Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson. Let’s just say I’m highly obsessed with these book, had a super hard time putting them down and was very sad when they were over. They were intense, but I LOVED them. I really want to watch the movies now!

Finally, I just finished The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy for our book club book. Sarah, Jamie, Kacina and I have a super informal book club that meets about once a quarter over Skype. It’s nice because there’s no pressure and we get to read lots of other books in between. I loved The Prince of Tides and Conroy’s writing a lot, but I was not so crazy about how it ended. I’d really like to watch this movie, too.

Up next for me is an Erma Bombeck book (my first- I’m super excited about it), followed by a book I got for free from Goodreads! I don’t win things very often, so I’m really excited to dive into it. Plus, it’s the first “new to me” book I’ve had in a long time! I’ve got a couple of other books to read lined up after that. I’m finally making a (small) dent in my Goodwill books. But I’ve bought 3 more in the past couple of weeks, so I’m replenishing my pile. That might be my favorite part of reading- there’s always a new world to discover.

One Comment on “How about some more books?”

  1. Nancy Mackey says:

    read “Beach Music” by Pat Conroy-it’s the best!!!


Leave a Reply

