Why I ate at Chick-fil-A yesterday

Unless you live under a rock or do not have Facebook and/or Twitter, you’ve been hearing about the controversy surrounding Chick-fil-A. Basically, Dan Cathy, Chick-fil-A’s President and COO, stated that Chick-fil-A supported the family unit as it is biblically written about. No big surprise there. They are a Christian company, are open about the fact that they run their company on Christian principles and are closed on Sunday.

Of course, his quote was taken out of context and people took it to say that he was against gay marriage and hated homosexuals. Um, not even close. Guess what? You can be against gay marriage and not hate homosexuals.

(Sidenote: I know that it’s unpopular to say “I don’t know” about something, but gay marriage is something that “I don’t know” how I feel about it. Yes, as a Christian, I believe that a homosexual lifestyle is a sin. I also believe that gossiping, gluttony, idolatry, sexual immorality, passing judgement and laziness, among a LOT of other things are sins. Guess what? Grace came anyway. And as an American, I believe in the separation of church and state and that we have freedom of religion. So I’m just not sure.)

So on Wednesday, Mike Huckabee (who, in my humble opinion, tends to give Christian Republicans a bad name) declared “Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day.” As far as I know, Chick-fil-A had NOTHING to do with this.

People were turning out in droves, lined up around blocks to “support” Chick-fil-A. (Guess what? They made over $4 BILLION last year. I think they’re doing just fine.) Plus a few protesters.

I debated most of the day whether I should go or not. I tend to think stuff like this gives Christians a bad name. But in the end, I went. For me, I went as an American, not as a Christian. Dan Cathy has the right to say whatever he wants and give his money to whomever he wants. Chick-fil-A is a private company. They give money to organizations that support marriage. But I promise you they don’t hate single mothers. They support several foster group homes around Georgia and Tennessee. But I promise you they don’t hate orphans.

If you don’t like Chick-fil-A or what they stand for, don’t eat there. Simple enough.

The rumor is that on Friday, people are staging a “Kiss-In” at Chick-fil-A. I hope the operators go out there and offer them free sweet tea and lemonade.

One Comment on “Why I ate at Chick-fil-A yesterday”

  1. appreciated your thoughts as a former staff person at chick-fil-a. “i don’t know” on many issues as well and i think that’s ok.


Leave a Reply

