Jamie is 25! Plus, Restaurant Club does Fox Brothers

One of the reasons this weekend was so awesome was that I got to see Jamie twice in the same weekend! It was such a treat! Since her birthday was on Monday, Sarah and I took her to Fox Brothers for lunch Sunday afternoon. And we just used it as Restaurant Club for the month of September. Life just got away from us and we are both so busy, so two birds, one stone, yada yada.

Sarah had been to Fox Brothers, but neither Jamie nor I had dined there before. Sarah RAVED about it, so it was high time we got to experience the goodness for ourselves!

I knew it would be special when we saw fried ribs were an appetizer.

Jamie gave the sweet tea one thumb up. I would agree. Passable, but not knock-your-socks off good.

We all got something a little different. Jamie had the chicken plate with baked beans and mac and cheese

Sarah had the brisket plate with baked beans and mac and cheese.

And I had the pulled pork plate with fried okra and Fox-a-roni. Fox-a-roni is mac and cheese with brunswick stew on it. I also tasted Sarah’s baked beans.

My takeaway? The pork was awesome and the beans were very good for restaurant baked beans. (Baked beans are my favorite food and my mom’s are still the best I’ve ever had. But again, these were very good for a restaurant.) The fried okra was unlike any I had seen before and it was good, but I prefer a great okra to breading ratio. I would probably try something else next time. The Fox-a-roni was awesome though! I would absolutely get it again. I don’t think I would like the stew by itself as much, but mixed with the mac and cheese, it was great! Plus, I love unique combinations like that.

But the real reason we were there was to celebrate our sweet Jamie. The one who sends hand-written cards and loves to cook and bake. The one who loves to laugh and to listen.

I will be an old lady when I forget the first encouraging text message she sent me.We were in Psychology together and had both done not as well on the first test as we would have liked, so we decided to study together for the next one. When we got the test back, she looked at me across the room and I shook my head no. I wish I could remember her exact, poetic words, but all I remember is being comforted and knowing that someone understood. As Maya Angelou said, “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” Thank you for always making me feel loved, Jamie. Love you.

2 Comments on “Jamie is 25! Plus, Restaurant Club does Fox Brothers”

  1. Jamie says:

    You are making me cry at work! =) I love you my sweet Sloaner and am blessed to call you friend! It was the perfect Sunday afternoon birthday lunch with 2 of my best girls!

  2. […] think everyone enjoyed their meal.  You can read Sloan’s review here.  It was one of those problems where you want to keep eating because it is so good but […]


Leave a Reply

