31 Days of Simplicity: Day Two

One of the ways that I’m simplifying is on Tuesday, I’m giving up TV and limiting my computer time.

I’m just going to be straight up honest here. I picked Tuesday for a reason.

I can’t give it up on Monday because that’s Gossip Girl. Wednesday, I’m usually with Ryan and he has ESPN on 24/7. Saturday is game day and since I can’t go to most of the games, I have to watch them on TV. I could give it up on Thursday, but Glee and Project Runway are on Thursday and the point of this exercise is not to overwhelm my Monday with six different shows that I have to catch up on.

I know, I know. I could give up TV all together, but it’s just not going to happen. I would die not knowing if Chuck and Blair are on their way to a reconciliation or not.

So Tuesday is my day. I will blog, but I will not let myself blog-hop. And I will try to limit my time on the computer to one single hour. The rest of Tuesday will be spent…. I don’t know how. Reading, hopefully. Doing laundry, probably. Cleaning, if I’m feeling really inspired. Cooking, maybe.

What will I do with my free time now that I’m actually scheduling free time?

(Have any of you ever given up TV, even if it’s only for a night? Any tips? And ideas of what I could do instead?)

6 Comments on “31 Days of Simplicity: Day Two”

  1. Erika says:

    I’m impressed with this ambitious-ness!! You can definitely pass the time reading…or maybe some old-fashioned handwritten correspondence? Surely you have some far-flung friends or family who would like a note in the mail. Or you could craft!! Or meet someone for coffee! So many options…so few Tuesdays… ;)

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      Reading and crafting were definitely things I had planned to do, but I’m loving the handwritten correspondence idea! And yes, 4 Tuesdays is not very many! I’m thinking this may continue for the rest of the year…..

  2. Cathy Rhodes says:

    One season, I gave up tv during the day for Lent. I ironed and talked to God.

  3. Janice says:

    We disconnected from satellite over a year ago and we don’t get any reception at all. My husband never watched too much TV but I’m a tv watcher, so this was a difficult decision for me. Some day I will probably set up some kind of streaming thing to watch my fave programs, but I don’t feel in a big hurry to do it. I think I’m getting used to not having it.

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      Janice, I will have to say that y’all are amazing! I know that I couldn’t do that, primarily because of sports. And Ryan loves TV, so when we are married, I think he would think I was nuts if I brought that up. Although I am thinking about requesting we continue the no-TV Tuesdays.


Leave a Reply

