31 Days: Day 19

I didn’t blog yesterday. I just didn’t have time. And part of my journey to simplicity is letting stuff like that go. Because it’s not life or death if I don’t blog. This is just a challenge for myself to get rid of some excess stuff and this is a great way to hold myself accountable.

Anyway, I’ve learned over the years that I am so NOT a morning person. I would much rather stay up late and sleep in. Alas, the rest of the world doesn’t work that way. So here I am, struggling every. single. morning.

But I’ve figured out a few ways to make my mornings go more smoothly.

First, I try to lay out my clothes the night before, down to the jewelry, scarves, shoes, whatever. Because what takes time for me isn’t getting dressed, it’s trying to find the exact right pair of red flats and oh here’s one but where’s the other? Yes, that is me every morning.

The other thing I try to do is fix my lunch the night before. This is helpful because not only does it save me time in the morning, but it also saves me money. Because I can’t leave for work without getting dressed, but I can certainly leave without fixing a lunch because Chick-fil-A is always right around the corner and it is always so dang tempting.

But this is my real secret.

Did you know that you can freeze peanut butter and jelly sandwiches???? Yep, it’s true!

I read it on the internet somewhere.

So once every few weeks, I buy a loaf of bread because I usually already have the pb and j and I spend about 20 minutes making as many sandwiches I can, then I put them in sandwich baggies and then in a big freezer bag and every night, they’re ready to go.

It takes me about that long just to make one. And this way, I just do it and I’m done. No fuss, no muss. One knife to clean up, one bowl, no big deal.

Now, I’m not going to get all dramatic on you and tell you it changed my life, but it sure as heck has made it a lot easier in the mornings. And that is plenty good enough for me.

4 Comments on “31 Days: Day 19”

  1. Erika says:

    Whoa!!! Who knew you could freeze PBJs??! That’s awesome. Plus then half your loaf of bread doesn’t go moldy when it takes you 2 weeks to finally finish it off. Win-win! Great tip!

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      Um, exactly! Unless you buy Trader Joe’s bread and don’t feel like making your pb and j’s and then the bread gets moldy because they don’t put preservatives in the bread like Kroger does. Ask me how I know that one.

  2. Bobbie says:

    I still struggle with mornings too…. and I didnt know you could freeze PB and J, although sometimes I buy those “uncrustable” PB and J in the freezer section. Why didnt I think of this?!! You are a genius!!! Im going to try it!

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      I haven’t ever done the “uncrustable” things, probably because I only ever grew up eating the real thing. And I totally stole the idea from someone else, but I can’t remember who now. Otherwise, I would give credit.


Leave a Reply

