31 Days: Day 25

Source: shaungroves.com via Sloan on Pinterest

Since I sponsor a child through Compassion, I decided to see how I measured up to this image that was posted on Pinterest.

First of all, I think the average American woman is lying. I currently own 42 pairs of shoes, give or take a pair or two. Writing it out, that seems ridiculous. And I’ve yet to get rid of a pair of shoes during my 31 Days. A lot of my problem is that I have multiples of things: 2 pairs of cowboy boots, 4 pairs of red flats, 3 pairs of Rainbows, two pairs of tennis shoes. And I actually wear most of them. But still, I need to cut back on the ones I don’t wear, so that will be a project for this week.

I have no idea how much I spent on shoes. I don’t think it’s nearly that much, but then again I had no idea I had 42 pairs of shoes.

I definitely did NOT spend $850 on soft drinks, but I probably spent around that much at Chick-fil-A. And by the way, November 1, I may eat there breakfast, lunch and dinner. I’m craving it so bad right now!

But… I probably did spend around that on cable and internet last year. Not me personally, but together with my roommates, we probably spent around that.

Exercises like this are convicting. There are definitely ways and things that I don’t spend money on, but then I realize just how much excess I still have in my life. Yes, I’m cutting things out, but not to the point that I’m uncomfortable. I have FOUR PAIRS OF RED SHOES that I can choose from. Deciding to follow Jesus in this land of excess is a lot harder than you think. It’s not hard to see why Jesus said it would be easier for a camel to fit through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to get in to Heaven.

One Comment on “31 Days: Day 25”

  1. Bobbie says:

    Thank you for this wakeup call. It hurts to hear the truth.


Leave a Reply

