Friday Five 11.30.12

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram, you know that right now I’m having this phase where I am obsessed with watching things grow. I don’t know exactly where it came from, but all of a sudden, my apartment is being overtaken by plants and I find myself dreaming about composters and what vegetables I’m going to grown next year. (So far, I’ve got tomatoes, cukes and basil. These need to be things that I can grow in containers, but if you have any suggestions, I’m all over it.)

So one of my joys at work this week has been watching these paperwhites grow. They seriously grow SO FAST! It’s awesome. They are definitely on my list for next year. This is just one day’s growth.

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8058/8232547684_2f785a36be.jpg

I’ve also had two Christmas cacti that were left over from the store last year. One of them is doing great, but the other  is  struggling. But so far, he’s still kicking. During Christmastime, they are supposed to bloom with these beautiful pink flowers, but I had no idea if they were going to do it again this year or not. So I was surprised when the other day I saw a couple of pink blooms on the healthy one!

https://i2.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8068/8232549762_e3dbd514fd.jpg

I was listening to the radio the other night and I heard a commercial. (I rarely listen to the radio. I’m more of a “enjoy the silence” or listen to my iPod or a podcast type.) The commercial started, “Becky, look at her… teeth. They are SO white.” I mean really. Who doesn’t want to go to a dentist that references Sir Mix-a-Lot in his commercial? Hysterical.

One of the products we’ve been waiting for at work were these glass water bottles. They are awesome and perfect for our healthy and sustainable mission. I have the taller size and I’m somewhat obsessed with it.

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8199/8232550764_2c60540e5a.jpg

I had my first Trader Joe’s fail this week. Honestly, I didn’t think TJ’s could do wrong, but they did. I was craving some hot chocolate last night, so I decided to go over and see what they had. It was gross. Chalky and just not good. I’ll just stick with Swiss Miss from now on. But, because I can never get just one thing at the store, I also picked up this salted caramel chai and chocolate-covered marshmellows with caramel and I am pleased to report that both are delish.

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8208/8232548500_3d3af9e75d.jpg

And last but certainly not least, I have the day off tomorrow to GO TO THE SEC CHAMPIONSHIP GAME!!!!!!! I am way excited because this is only the THIRD game I’ve been to this season. :( Which is crazy when you realize I went to every single one last year. But, work trumps football. Except when your team has a chance to go to the National Championship. Then you’re thankful for a boss that will move mountains to help you go to the game. So yes, tomorrow I will be in the Georgia Dome with my red pants on (I finally found a pair!!), cheering my heart out for my Dawgs. Go Dawgs!!

Leave a Reply

