In which my heart is broken

A few weeks ago, Georgia played Alabama in the SEC Championship Game. I’m sure you saw. It was a heartbreaker.

The day started out on such a high note.

I worked first thing, then headed down to the tailgate. We were so excited, Ryan just knew we were going to win. We met Pease and Ross at a pizza place along with everyone else from the tailgate. After eating (which was delicious), we decided to go to the SEC Experience.

Pease and I had to tag the chalkboard wall.

Going in to the SEC Experience. It was lame. We didn’t stay very long.

Getting ready to head into the game! I finally got my much-coveted red pants. That will never be worn again….

This is one of my favorite pictures of us.

The game. What can I say?

The best and worst game I’ve ever seen.

There were moments in that game where I couldn’t believe how happy I was. We were so close. The last three minutes, I stood there and whispered, “I believe, I believe, I believe.” I couldn’t believe nobody scored in the first quarter. I was even excited that we were down going into halftime because I thought that would put some fire in our bellies. On two of the touchdowns, Ryan looked at me at the beginning of the play and said, “Touchdown.” Really and truly, I believe it could have just as well been us that is playing for the National Championship. I have never been more proud of a team.

I didn’t realize what had happened at first. And then, I was just shocked. I really felt like my heart was breaking. I just stood there, unable to move, until Ryan finally told me it was time to go. It was hard just putting one foot in front of the other.

I’m not sure I’ll ever get over this loss. I’m not sure I really want to. This season was different for me. I only was able to go to 4 games. But every Saturday, about an hour before kick-off, Ryan would call me and then I would turn off my phone. I’d race home from work, having no idea what had happened and watch the game alone in my apartment. I’ll never forget jumping all over the place when we beat Florida. Or watching the South Carolina game with Sarah, which was dismal. But I’m proud of my team for coming back, for fighting.

I love my Dawgs. And this team will always have a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

