Christmas Time is Here! (Okay, was here…)

I have to say, Christmas was a little different this year. A little more low-key. Less presents. More money. Transitioning into what we will be doing for Christmas next year was also a theme for this year. Even though we didn’t really do anything we will do next year, it was definitely on my mind more.

This is from the Christmas card photo shoot, had my mom had the time and energy to send out Christmas cards. (Incidentally, mine are still sitting on the floor on my apartment. They do say Happy Holidays inside, so I figured I could still send them out around New Years because it’s still the holidays, but now at 22 days into January, maybe I’ll turn them into Valentine’s cards.)

Christmas Eve was spent at Ryan’s parents’ house. Ryan and I headed to church at 3 because everyone was coming over for apps at 4. (Btw, when I was in college, apps were appetizers, not phone applications. Crazy how things change in 3 short years.) Anyway, it ended up being the children and family service, so instead of really hearing a sermon, we heard lots of shhhh’s and ‘so help me God, if you don’t sit still and be quiet’s. Nice way to begin the day celebrating the birth of our Savior. Anyway, after church, we had dinner and a white elephant gift exchange with Ryan’s family. It was very hard coming up with a gift that both his 24 year old sister and 80 year old grandfather would like. And explaining white elephant to them. But I was happy that my gift was the only one actually stolen. Go me! (Checkers from Cracker Barrel, if you were wondering. If you ever are in need of a last minute, cute gift- Cracker Barrel is where it’s at.)

(I don’t actually have any pictures from Christmas Eve because Monica has yet to post hers on Facebook so I can steal them.)

(Let’s just see how many parentheses I can use in this one single blog post, why don’t we?)

(Count is up to 5. Six counting this one. I’m going for the record, folks.)

After dinner and gifts, I headed home to the Boro and got to see Mama and Daddy for a few minutes before they went to bed. And then I proceeded to stay up until 2 watching Auntie Mame. A Christmas classic and since learning ‘We Need A Little Christmas’ was on my Christmas to-do list, I felt it necessary. Although this was the one with Rosalind Russell, not Lucille Ball which is the one with the song in it.

Christmas morning, I woke up to money, candy and the first and second season of Downton Abbey on DVD. Which Mama and I proceeded to watch over the next 5 days, pretty much non-stop. We had our traditional breakfast of pancakes, sausage and oranges while Big Daddy came to eat with us.

We then had lunch at Lala and Big Daddy’s and opened presents with everyone there.

(And the words cease and pictures begin.)

This picture cracks me up because it looks like Big Daddy photobombed an Olan Mills picture of Chance and me.

After lunch with the family, we always head down to the Ellenburgs to say hello. This might be one of the things I miss the most about Christmas next year. They are seriously our favorite family- all hilarious and so full of joy and love. Plus, Miss Marjorie makes THE BEST fudge you have ever had in your life. I even Instagrammed it, so you know it’s true.

Okay, I was going to do Christmas all at one time, but this is getting insanely long, so I will save Christmas with Mama’s family until next time. Props if you stuck around this long. (Do people even say “props” anymore?)

4 Comments on “Christmas Time is Here! (Okay, was here…)”

  1. Vincent says:

    Great blog you have got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days. I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  2. youtube says:

    Keep on writing, great job! youtube for less along with quick, Get
    Real Enthusiasts on your page.
    getting more loves in youtube, actually can youtube
    If you want to youtube to your youtube profile, there are many quite effective approaches.

  3. youtube says:

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at this site
    is actually fastidious. youtube
    youtube
    youtube

  4. instagram says:

    Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to safeguard against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any tips?. instagram
    instagram


Leave a Reply

