Big Thoughts About Downton Abbey

I was reading my archives a few weeks ago and realized I used to talk about TV a LOT more than I do now. This doesn’t mean I’m less obsessed, it just means I have less time to actually watch it. Plus, with the addition of the DVR in my life (how did I ever live without it??), I can watch my shows whenever I’d like. But the one show that I absolutely must watch on Sundays at 9: Downton Abbey.

The life of the Grantham family and their servants is my current Favorite Show of All Time. Set in a beautiful manor house in England, I live vicariously through this family as they experience the sinking of the Titanic, the Great War, the Spanish Influenza, the Roaring 20s and a million other significant aspects of their lives- marrying the chauffeur, being jilted at the altar, having your husband wrongfully jailed for the murder of his ex-wife.

But last night, Downton Abbey went where few other shows have gone before- Killing Off a Main Character. I knew something bad was going to happen, but people get sick and recover on TV. They don’t get sick and DIE. Unless they are a secondary character that keeps the two main characters that are supposed to be together apart. Oh, how I cried. Oh, how Ryan told me it was just a TV show.

But really, it’s more than that. It brings people together. Why else would some of my favorite bloggers feel the need to document it also?

Rage Against the Minivan and Whoorl do a Downton recap every week. And this was the saddest one yet.

BooMama also had some big feelings about it. All of which I share.

I’m not sure I will ever get over this one.

2 Comments on “Big Thoughts About Downton Abbey”

  1. Jamie says:

    Oh girl, I cried too. I loved Lady Sybil! I understand completely. The characters are so real to me. I feel foolish, but it did hurt.

  2. Iz says:

    I bawled. I haven’t cried like that in a long time.


Leave a Reply

