Another Book Post

I’ve been somewhat on a reading binge lately. My new trick to make myself get off the computer and turn off the TV and get in bed at a decent hour is to set alarms on my phone. I have one at 10:30 and one at 11:15. The one at 10:30 is to turn off the tv, close the computer and get ready for bed. The one for 11:15 is to be in bed and lights off or going off. Yes, I feel like I’m in elementary school with alarms set to a bedtime, but self control, I have none. And you just have to figure out what works for you.

So, because I have to turn off the TV and my computer so early, I have more time to read, which makes me happy, happy! And these are the books I’ve read lately.

South of Broad by Pat Conroy. Oh, man how I loved this book! I liked this one even better than The Prince of Tides. Mama said that Lords of Discipline was her favorite and Sarah loaned me Beach Music, so I have lots of Pat to read.

Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells- Also a book that I loved. I first read Little Alters Everywhere, so of course I needed it from Goodwill. Fortunately, it didn’t take me very long to find it. I’m sensing a theme of twisted family stories here.

7 by Jen Hatmaker- Yes, I’ve already read this one again. Oh, how I love it. I bought her other book (Interrupted, I think) and can’t wait to start it either. Life-altering. Also, I recommend watching the Bloom Book club videos from when they did 7. It’s nice to hear Jen’s thoughts on the whole thing, chapter by chapter.

Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin- Sometimes, you have to read things that you disagree with to know what you really believe. And this book was that for me. She did have some great ideas as far as making her husband and children feel loved, but ultimately, I realized I don’t want to be remembered for being “happy.” Actually, this post from Missy at It’s Almost Naptime! pretty much perfectly sums it for me. And it probably didn’t help that I had just finished a book about only eating 7 different kinds of food and wearing 7 different items of clothes because the author realized how much excess surrounded her.

Tumbleweeds by Leila Meacham- This was the book that Jamie chose for Book Club this time. And of course, in my typical fashion, I read the final 300 pages the day we were meeting. Fortunately, it was a Monday, so I had the day off. I think Jamie put it best- liked the book enough to finish it, but not enough to run out and read other stuff she has written. Although if I saw Roses at Goodwill, I would probably grab it because Southern Living called it the new Gone With The Wind. And that’s a pretty bold statement.

The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels by Ree Drummond- I’m sorry, but I so hated this book. Ugh. I read her blog, mostly for the recipes and her Home and Garden section and Entertainment section. But this story was copied and pasted from her blog with the addition of another chapter. It was choppy and jumped around and I just didn’t like it. But I’m not a fan of her writing style anyway, so I should have know. Sorry, PW, back to Goodwill you go.

Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle- I already dedicated an entire blog post to this book, but I’m still going to include it here. Her blog is probably the only one that consistantly makes me laugh out loud. Her book did the same thing, along with making me cry. And now she apparently has a second book coming out, which I’m hoping is about marriage, because I think marriage to P would be hysterical.

2 Comments on “Another Book Post”

  1. Erika B. says:

    We could definitely be reading buddies. I LOOOOVE Missy’s post on happiness. I read it like once a week for inspiration. That’s so sad about PW, though. I LOVED the story on the blog, but never read it in the book since I figured it’d be the exact same. I want to read Sparkly Green Earrings!

  2. Tori says:

    I have Roses if you want it, but it is definitely not the new GWTW. To say that anything is the new GWTW is blasphemous, really. I’d give Roses a three out of five.


Leave a Reply

