Buying Myself Flowers

This past weekend, Ryan was in Virginia visiting his dad’s family, so I spend the better part of the weekend alone. It was nice. I got a lot done, especially in the way of watching tv and doing laundry. Saturday night was Sarah’s twin brother Matt’s going away party, so we went out for that, but Friday night was just me and the DVR. After work, I went to Trader Joe’s because the only thing in my fridge was pickles and 20 different condiments.  While I was there, I decided to buy some tulips. They had 10 stems for $5. You really can’t beat that.

Even though I have a sweet fiance who likes to surprise me with flowers, sometimes it’s nice to just buy them for yourself. I’m having some friends over next week and I hope they’re still pretty, but if they’re not, I’ve enjoyed them. And that’s worth $5 to me.

I know it’s super cheesy, but as I was walking out of TJ’s, it reminded me of a poem from my Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul. I was obsessed with those books. I swear they have more highlighter and pen marks in them than probably all of my textbooks combined. Even though I haven’t looked at them in years, I feel like I can’t get rid of them because they are basically my journal from middle school. I was/am terrible at keeping a real journal. This particular poem, I typed up, decorated with marker and had hanging in my room.

“… So plant your own garden and decorate your own soul, instead of waiting for someone else to bring you flowers….”

Maybe I should buy myself flowers more often.

One Comment on “Buying Myself Flowers”

  1. Erika B. says:

    Totally agree– I love buying flowers for myself!! Especially tulips!!


Leave a Reply

