Home Shower

The day after our Engagement Dinner, I had my first wedding shower hosted by some of the ladies from my home church. It was really fun to see a lot of people that I used to see almost weekly (at least!) that I don’t get to see very often. Ryan and I were overwhelmed with all of the wonderful gifts.

The food and the flowers were beautiful and perfectly Southern. I made the mistake of eating lunch that day, thinking I would still be hungry enough for the shower. I ate anyway though because it was all so good.

Some of my favorite people that I’ve known my whole life were there.

Miss Marjorie’s daughter Nancy was my first babysitter ever. She lived down the street from us and it is still a tradition that we go see them every year on Christmas Day. Our family LOVES their family. They are all hilarious and so nice.

Aunt Suzan, Miss Lynn, Tori and Miss Kathy. Aunt Suzan is Daddy’s older sister, Miss Lynn is Daddy’s first girlfriend and now one of Mama’s best friends. She did a lot to help us with the wedding! Tori was my Sunday School teacher in high school and T and H are her boys. She was an Alpha Gam at Mercer and is one of my favorite favorites. :) And Miss Kathy has been our church secretary for as long as I can remember. Her middle daughter, Maggie, and Chance were good friends growing up.

Mrs. Ward was my high school English teacher and now her son Joey is engaged to my cousin, Kendrick. (Aunt Suzan’s daughter) Yes, we are all crazy-connected around here. She would always joke in class that she would dance at our wedding if we did something good.

Miss Paula, Miss Rhonda and Miss Denise. Miss Paula and Miss Rhonda are the moms of two of my friends from growing up. I read in Sara Beth’s wedding a few years ago and Ginger is getting married this weekend. Miss Denise is someone we’ve always known. I feel like that’s how it is with most of these people.

Soon, it was time to open the gifts. Sarah was my little recorder and she was awesome.

Miss Janet is one of Mama’s good friends through Miss Lynn. They go to the beach together every year. Miss Valerie is the mama of Marc, who performed our ceremony. And Miss Paula again.

Cast Iron Skillet!! That I can barely pick up.

My first plate from Miss Gene. She is Miss Lynn’s mama and one of Lala’s best friends. The pattern is Blue Willow by Johnson Brothers.

Jessie is on of my good friends from high school. I haven’t see or talked to her in a while, but we picked up right where we left off. It’s one of those things with people you’ve known your whole life. It’s awesome.

Me and Lala. She gave me a Georgia basket for tailgating and wrote the cutest poem to go with it.

My sweet maid and matron of honor came all the way to Greensboro just for the shower. They are so good to me. I don’t know what I would do without them.

My favorite Mama. She’s the best.

And the hostesses. Miss Janice is in Mama and Daddy’s SS class. When they get old, she and Mama are going to live together and Mama will cook and Janice will clean. And I’ve already covered Tori and Miss Kathy.

This was a perfect first shower with so many of the women that have watched me grow up and shaped me into who I am. Cheesy? Yes. True? Yes.

2 Comments on “Home Shower”

  1. So happy you’re documenting all this! Can’t wait to see more! Love, your little recorder

  2. Cathy says:

    That’s a great picture of you and Lala. Did I take them with your camera?


Leave a Reply

