Summer Reading List

I love setting goals for myself. Now, if I actually meet them, that’s a whole ‘nother thing. Anyway, to get myself back on my reading wagon, I’ve decided that between Memorial Day and Labor Day, I’m going to read 10 books. Which is just over 3 a month, for those of us that are math impaired. (However, I’m sure Sarah could do that math for us down to the thousandth decimal. While I’m just proud I remembered three numbers past the decimal is the thousandths place. OKAY. Moving on.) Also, most of these are books I’ve already owned from my frequent Goodwill purchases.

This is my list, somewhat in the order I will probably read them. But maybe not.

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling- I love her show and so far have loved her book!
  • Love Does by Bob Goff- This is our book club book for the quarter and I’m so excited about it!
  • A Little Salty to Cut The Sweet by Sophie Hudson aka BooMama- BooMama’s book came out yesterday and I can’t wait to read it!
  • The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank- I’ve heard a lot about this book and I’m hoping it lives up to expectations.
  • The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser- Truthfully, the only reason I grabbed this book is because there is an old house in Atlanta called The Swan House and it looked like historical fiction. But I told Sarah about it and she said it was good, so that’s promising.
  • Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequiest- This is Bloom’s book club choice for the summer and I’ve been hearing a lot about it, so I splurged when I was buying BooMama’s book and grabbed it too.
  • Interrupted by Jen Hatmaker- I’m anticipating loving this as much as 7. Which means you will be hearing about it for the next 10 years.
  • Shopgirl by Steve Martin- I never saw the movie, but it’s super short and I already own it. Here’s hoping it’s actually good.
  • Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven by Fannie Flagg- by the same lady that wrote Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe. Fingers crossed for this one.
  • The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold- part of me thinks I’ve read this before, but I honestly can’t remember. If not, I’m about 10 years late to this party.
  • Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews- I love all of her books, even if they do all follow the same basic plot line. But they’re cute, fun, easy reads.

So that’s actually 11. I might get all of these read and I might not. But I’m at least going to attempt. :)

 

2 Comments on “Summer Reading List”

  1. You’ll love the Swan House!! The sequel, not so much. I toured it after reading it! And I’ve had the girl’s guide to hunting and fishing on my list for a long time too! Let me know how it is!

  2. […] and proud of myself. I read 10 11 books between Memorial Day and Labor Day. I strayed a bit from my original list but I’m okay with that. The point was to just […]


Leave a Reply

