Whole 30 Journey

After doing some research, I have decided to dive head first into Whole 30. Why? Well, a few reasons. 1. I feel addicted to sugar. I crave it every time I finish a meal. 2. I have almost zero energy throughout the day. I constantly feel like I need to sit down and rest and hello. I’m only 26. This is not normal. 3. The week before I started this, I had a headache every single day. I get headaches fairly often, but this is excessive. 4. I just want to retrain myself to eat better and make better choices. I could seriously eat CFA and pizza everyday, but I can’t. Not if I want to be healthy and live better.

This isn’t going to be easy. We’re going to a Braves game and it’s the 4th of July and we want to do a few other things too. But if I wanted easy, I’d just keep doing what I’m doing. So it’s going to take some intention and planning, but I’m up for the challenge.

My first day was Monday, June 24 and the last day will be Tuesday, July 23. (I may stretch it out a bit longer because Tuesday seems like a weird day to end.) I started with a bang. The weekend before, I had sushi, pizza, a Coke and strawberry shortcake with whipped cream on top. The only thing I didn’t do was drink alcohol. Oops. Sunday, Ryan and I went to the grocery store and loaded up on vegetables and fruit.

I’ve been doing it one week and my only slip-ups were we had Mexican and they brought corn on my salad after I asked them not to and we took communion at church on Sunday. I’m not going to send my salad back and of course I’m going to take communion.

Ryan has been awesome through this, cooking dinners that are approved and just generally supporting me. The first few days were hard and all I did was crave cupcakes and want to wash them down with peach milkshakes. But it’s gotten a little easier as time had gone on.

We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

