Proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free

The 4th of July this year was pretty soggy. I told Ryan it was a good day, it just didn’t feel like the 4th. Usually, the 4th is spent by some water and watching fireworks, but not this year. It was nice to have a day off in the middle of the week, though.

We got up early and had breakfast with Ryan’s parents, aunt and uncle and grandparents. I had some amazing French Toast. (I’m not doing Whole30 anymore.) I also had bacon, which is Whole30 compliant. ;)

Pete and I decided to make homemade ice cream for the 4th. We got an ice cream maker as a wedding gift and decided to break it in. I’ve never made it before, so I looked up a recipe on the way back from breakfast, and dang, it is an all day event. I made Pioneer Woman’s recipe and it was good, but super rich, so I’m going to try a different recipe next time.

We were a little nervous that it wasn’t going to turn out. I didn’t let it cook quite long enough, so it didn’t turn quite as thick as it should have been.

But it did! We were super excited about it!

Ross came over with Sheldon because Peaser was at the beach. He’s growing so much already and he’s the cutest puppy. Love him.

And our ice cream turned out delicious!

And Ryan and I caught a few fireworks on the way home. So, all in all, a good day. We are blessed to be Americans.

One Comment on “Proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free”

  1. Erika B. says:

    YUM– homemade ice cream!! I haven’t had that in a few years (we don’t have an IC maker)…but it is always so good!


Leave a Reply

