Wedding Dress Shopping

Yesterday, I got a text from Peaser about an app she had. It’s a time hopper app and tells you what happened on your phone and twitter the year before. And a year ago, we were buying my wedding dress! Obviously, I couldn’t post pictures when it happened, but now I can.

All I knew was I wanted something different, NOT STRAPLESS and no train. I wanted the skirt to be full, not ballgown, but not tight either.

I went to three different places before I found my dress. My favorite dresses were by Christos, who is carried in two places in Georgia.This was my absolute favorite dress. However, Ryan is not a fan of one-shoulder dresses and it was waaaay out of my budget. I loved the peplum and the belt.

So the first place Mama and I went was in Augusta. They didn’t have anything from their current collection, but I tried on a few I liked, but didn’t love. The second time, Ryan’s mom went with us in Roswell. I found a dress that I really liked, but I wasn’t completely sold. I wanted to go one more place to be sure. My goal was to find a dress to beat that one.

This was one dress. I really liked the top because it was sparkly and the pleats in the skirt, but it was too ordinary.

This was “the dress to beat.” I liked the lace at the top and the ribbon belt. I also really liked the skirt because it was a little different.

 

For the last place, we went to Br*dal’s by L*ri. Apparently they were filming, but we didn’t see any cameras. Lori wasn’t there, but Monte and that little girl with the blonde bob were. I’ll be honest and say that it didn’t start off as the best experience, but once they realized we were serious about buying a dress, it got a lot better. I know they probably have a TON of people that just come in and try dresses on to be on TV.

Mama didn’t want me to take a entourage because people have a ton of opinions. but I wanted Pease and Sarah to go with us, along with Monica. I knew that they would all put aside their own tastes and knew me well enough that they knew what I would like. I tried on about 8 different dresses and it came down to two. (I deleted the pictures of all of them.) Sarah, Pease and I liked one and Mama and Monica liked the other one. So I tried them both back on and Mama and Monica switched their votes. ;)

So at this point, it was between the dress in Roswell and the one at L*ri’s, so Sarah and I snuck in the bathroom to look at the other dress. And it was no contest.

This was the dress.

This is a close-up of the top. (Terrible picture of me, though.) And a close-up of the back.

It was a fun, special day with 4 of my favorite girls!

3 Comments on “Wedding Dress Shopping”

  1. Erika B. says:

    So fun!!! LOVE the dress you picked (and also The One to Beat)!! I only tried on like 3 dresses and went with the first one. :) I’d already seen it in a magazine and loved it. Went to the store that carried that designer, asked if they had it…they did, it was on a mannequin…tried it on, was like THIS IS THE ONE. Tried on 2 more just for kicks, but then I was like ‘let’s not make this harder than we must. I want Dress #1!”…so basically it took me about 10 minutes to get my wedding dress. :) But I don’t have all the fun pictures like you do! And also my mom wasn’t with me…party foul!

  2. Cathy says:

    Only photo missing is the back of “the dress to beat” which was part of what I loved about it.

  3. Such a fun afternoon!!! Glad you went with the right choice :)
    and no pictures of Monica crying?! You’re a good daughter-in-law!


Leave a Reply

