Favorite Words

The other day, Clueless was on TV. And just like every other mid-20-to-early-30-something girl that grew up in America, I had to stop to watch it. Really, that movie defined my awkward, growing-up years. You know, the ones with huge glasses and braces. (If I were Erika, I would have an awesome picture of those days, but sadly, I don’t.)

Anyway, what does this have to do with words?

Well, one of my favorite lines in the movie is when Josh says, “Be seeing you.” And Tai says, “Hope not sporadically.” I’m pretty sure Clueless is how I know the definition of the word sporadic.

And thus, sporadically is one of my favorite words. Because it always reminds me of Clueless.

My middle school English teacher’s favorite word was window. I remember thinking that was somewhat random. We read the “Tell-Tale Heart” in her class and you’ve never seen hands shoot up so fast as when it was time to read the part that said damn.

Another one of my favorite words is juxtaposition. I use it a lot at work and the other week, I even had a customer compliment on my usage of such an awesome word. I told him it was one of my favorite words and I try to use it as often as possible.

Okay, spill. What’s your favorite word? I need some new ones to throw out and sound smart.

2 Comments on “Favorite Words”

  1. Erika B. says:

    ‘Window’ is a weird favorite word. One of my favorites is ‘myriad.’ But most people use it incorrectly. I will educate:

    Incorrect: There are a myriad of cute workout clothes these days!
    Correct: There are myriad cute workout clothes these days!

  2. Jamie says:

    I like the word ‘simultaneously’. Not sure why though. Wish I had neat story behind it, but I don’t. Another favorite word is ‘significant’ but that is just because I won the 2nd grade spelling bee with that word. :) Funny what you remember….


Leave a Reply

