An Accomplished Goal

Yes, I did it. And I’m very excited and proud of myself. I read 10 11 books between Memorial Day and Labor Day. I strayed a bit from my original list but I’m okay with that. The point was to just READ.

First up was Big Fish by Daniel Wallace. I never saw that movie and wasn’t really sure what to think going into it. And it was a little weird. But I think that maybe I would read it to my kids one day when they’re a little older, so I’m keeping it around. Plus, it’s pretty beat up and I’m a sucker for a book that’s been well-loved.

Radical by David Platt- Right now, I’m very much into books about shaking up my faith and selling everything I have and moving to Tibet. Well, I’m not there yet, but books like this and Jen Hatmaker are putting me closer and closer. It’s not a bad place to be. I think my biggest fear is to be like the rich young ruler from Mark 10:17-27 (yes, I had to look it up. I’m not that good.) And that’s big for me because I’ve always been a “stuff” person. I like things. So God is very much working on my heart in that area and I’m so thankful.

Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore- This is one of those books that everyone and their mom raved about but I never got around to reading. Well, that’s sad for me because this may have been one of the best stories I’ve ever read. So, if you haven’t read this book, I highly suggest you read it. I think I would even pay $15 for it at Barnes and Noble, which is really saying something.

Currently, I’m trying to read The Ecstasy and the Agony, which is the life story of Michelangelo. Yes, Sistine Chapel Michelangelo. I’m not very far in, but so far it’s proving a little hard to read with the crazy names to keep up with. However, I’m going to try to stick with it and see if it gets better. It’s interesting, just confusing. After that, I’m reading The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing for book club and after that, I’m re-reading the Mark of the Lion series and then it’s HP time. Hopefully I can somewhat wrap those up before the new year. Fortunately, the NFL starting back and basketball season beginning semi-soon means lots of extra reading time.

Any recommendations of something good you’ve read recently? I’m always looking!

One Comment on “An Accomplished Goal”

  1. […] spending the summer reading all new books, I thought I would then spend the fall/early winter re-reading some old favorites. I know there are […]


Leave a Reply

