Random [Deep] Thoughts

Lots of random deep thoughts lately.

I have this special talent of building up something into much worse than it actually is. I do this constantly and it causes me way too much anxiety. My best trick for this is reciting scripture or passages about Jesus. I memorized this one a few months ago and it’s a favorite. Beth Moore always talks about keeping a captive mind and I love it. It is crazy true. The worst is when I wake up in the middle of the night worrying about something. I recite my verses and it calms me down and puts me right to sleep. It’s awesome. (I need to learn more.)

Ryan and I recently joined a new Sunday School class, and we did not know a single soul. It was a little nerve-wracking walking in there the first time. However, the class has started pairing up couples to get to know each other and we had dinner last week with the first couple. It kinda felt like a first date, because we knew very little about them, but we had a lot of fun and talked for hours. It was nice getting to know new people and I’m excited to hang out with them again soon.

I love having people over to our apartment. After reading Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequiest and reading her thoughts on inviting people into your space, I’m practically addicted. There’s just something so awesome about saying this is how we live, welcome to our life. It’s messy and imperfect, but it’s ours.

I made this Kale and Lentil salad last night for dinner. It may be the healthiest thing I’ve ever eaten in my life. And it actually tasted pretty good. The trick was to eat the kale with a sweet potato, so it balanced out the bitterness of the kale. Fortunately, Iz made a pound cake and shared it with us, so that balanced out the healthy. I may or may not have had a piece for breakfast.

Nobody makes me laugh like Ryan does.

I left the door open to our porch all day yesterday and it was glorious. I love getting some fresh air in the apartment after having the door shut for so long. There is such a small window of perfect weather and this is it right now. A little cool in the mornings and evenings and warm during the day. Absolute perfection.

Breaking Bad is the craziest show ever. Just when we think it can’t be any more bizarre, there goes a million different things.

Good things happening to your friends is just as good as good things happening to you.

One Comment on “Random [Deep] Thoughts”

  1. Erika B. says:

    That salad sounds delicious!! I’m glad yall had a good ‘date night’ with a new couple…that does indeed sound nerve-wracking!


Leave a Reply

