Books: Previously Read Edition

After spending the summer reading all new books, I thought I would then spend the fall/early winter re-reading some old favorites. I know there are many people out there that would NEVER re-read a book because why would you want to if you already know what is going to happen? Well, I re-read books BECAUSE I know what is going to happen and I love picking up on little nuances that I missed before because I was too focused on what was going to happen. And it just feels like visiting old friends to me.

Except first I read The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank. This was my choice for our book club book and while it will not be added to my re-read list, I did enjoy it. I would give it a 4 out of 5.

I first started with the first two Mark of the Lion books. Sarah read them recently for the first time and reminded me that the third one is not all that necessary, so I passed. And I have to say I’m glad I did. I loved the stories and characters as much as the last time I read them. Plus, it is very interesting to me to read about the 1st Century Christians and the things that they endured for the Gospel.

After reading those, I dove head first back into Harry Potter. It’s probably been a few years since I’ve read Harry and he is just as courageous and adventurous as I remember. Tsh from Simple Mom recently wrote a post about her love for HP and it totally rings true for me also. I also hope she will expand on some of her other thoughts too. I still wish that Ryan would get on board, but so far it’s a no-go.

(This photo is slightly deceiving because I have only read the first two so far. I am currently working on the third. However, mine are the British covers because I bought them in London. So much prettier than the American versions.)

I also just finished re-reading 7 by Jen Hatmaker. (For those of you that are counting, this is the 3rd time I’ve read it in less than a year.) I decided I needed another kick in the pants in the “Waste” department, but it also really got me thinking about the Spending aspect also. Which is great, but slightly inconvenient since Christmas is quickly approaching. So I’m thinking through exactly how to do that.

This week, I have been reading our Sunday School book because Ryan and I are supposed to teach on Sunday. Um, yikes. But as soon as this week is over, I will be diving back into HP and then into a few books that I am planning on getting with some Christmas money. First up: In Heaven and Earth by the new Pope. Can I just tell you, I am crazy obsessed with him. It almost makes me want to become Catholic. Almost.

One Comment on “Books: Previously Read Edition”

  1. More intriguing books to add to my To Be Read list. Love that Francine Rivers cover, too. Luke is just getting into HP. I never read them (Whaaat?) I know. It’s a crime. I’ll dive in here shortly. I love your HP covers, too. Thanks for clarifying where you got them … I was about to go on a hunt.


Leave a Reply

