In 2014, I Resolve To…

I consider myself Type B+. I am definitely way too laid back to be Type A, but I definitely have a few “this is how things have to be” quirks. Being Type B+ also means that I always make New Years Resolutions, but I rarely keep them. Last year, I made five and kept 2.5, so if I’d being graded, I failed, but if I’m playing baseball, I’m batting .500 which is pretty darn good.

So, without further ado, my 2014 Resolutions.

1. Read a part of the Bible every day.

No big plan to read the Bible in a year, but a little bit every day like a chapter or two. I realized recently that I read a lot of what other people say about God, but not so much what God himself says. Time to remedy that. I’m going to try to read this before I read anything else, so that is one way to keep me accountable.

2. Spend 10-15 minutes every night picking up the apartment. Or at least don’t make it worse.

The don’t make it worse addendum here is critical. It takes an extra three minutes to hang up my clothes instead of throwing them on the floor. Putting my cup in the dishwasher instead of just in the sink is nothing. (Ryan is laughing at that one.) But if we keep it clean, it will stay clean.

3. Have one date night a month.

This doesn’t seem like a whole lot, but I think being intentional about this is important. We are working to save money and not eating out is one of the easiest ways to do that. But for me, it’s nice to get out and have someone bring me my meal and clean it up for me and I don’t have to think about it. Plus, it’s just nice to sit and talk with no distractions.

4. Invite someone over once a month.

I’d like to practice more hospitality in our home. It’s tiny right now, but that doesn’t mean we can’t have people over.

5. Learn to curl my hair and make pie crust.

These don’t really relate to each other, but I like having a few “one and done” resolutions. Do it and it’s done.

6. Get outside more.

This isn’t as specific as it should be, but it’s super cold right now, so I’m waiting on it to warm up a little bit before figuring out how to do this more specifically.

7. Blog three times per week.

I kinda fell off the blogging train, but I’m trying to hop back on, starting this week. We’ll see how it goes….

2 Comments on “In 2014, I Resolve To…”

  1. Mom says:

    Can you add “Visit my parents once a month” to the list?

  2. Erika B. says:

    Ha!! I think I’m Type B+, too. Just never thought of it that way! Excellent goals, too!


Leave a Reply

