The Super Bowl of Party Rolls

I love having people over. I love cooking providing a meal for them, hanging out and having fun. When you are with someone in their own environment- where they cook dinner, watch TV, refuge from the world- it’s like you know them on a more intimate level.

That is why this was one of my New Year’s Resolutions for the year- to invite people over more. (Sarah was supposed to come for dinner in January, but got the flu. So it counts.) For the Super Bowl, Ryan and I decided to invite Pease, Kathleen, Iz, and their SO’s over. We knew it would be crammed, but we also knew it would be fun. The game was so boring and I just felt sorry for Peyton. Ever since we watched the Book of Manning, I have loved their family. I didn’t take a single picture, but we talked and ate and laughed and ate some more. The girls decided to do apps (remember when apps was appetizers, not phone applications? wasn’t that long ago!) so Pease brought cheese dip, salsa and guac, Kathleen brought wings, and I made my mom’s Party Rolls and Texas Caviar.

I have lots of memories from these Party Rolls. I took them to every high school class party we had at the request of Zeke. They are delicious. And high school was probably the last time I had them, so it was time to reintroduce an old favorite.

I have no idea where this recipe came from, except from Granny’s Good Cookin’, which was our school’s cookbook. (It also includes the recipe for Conrad’s Bacon and Ketchup sandwiches. I think it came out when I was in elementary school, so we all submitted recipes.)

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Pepperidge Farm party rolls
Ham, sliced very, very thin (probably about 1/4# for every pan of rolls)
Swiss cheese

For the spread:
1/2 cup butter, softened (I learned from BooMama if you grate the butter, it’ll soften it.)
1/4 cup mustard
1/4 cup onion, grated (I just diced mine super small and then sauteed it. Grating onion is not that easy.)
1 Tbsp poppy seed

Slice the rolls and spread on each 1/2 of the mixture. Add a layer of ham and cheese. Put top on sandwich and bake at 350* for 10 minutes to melt the cheese.

These are so dang good. I need to have another party so we can make them again. Look at that. I’m becoming a cooking blog. :)

2 Comments on “The Super Bowl of Party Rolls”

  1. LFFL says:

    Don’t you just love the fun of having friends over and eating. So fun!

  2. So sad I was sick. We need to reschedule!


Leave a Reply

