Some Books I Loved and One I Didn’t

Basketball season is so good for me because I get a LOT of reading done. Hallelujah, Amen.

Before I start this post, I have to include this photo documentation of Ryan and me READING at the same time!!!! It has never happened before and will probably be a really long time before it happens again. In full disclosure, he was reading our Sunday School book and I picked my book up really fast so that we could read at the same time. DREAM FULFILLED.

The last time I left off, I had just finished the first two Harry Potters. After that, I read 3-6. Listen, asking me to choose my favorite HP book is like asking me to choose a favorite child. Granted, I don’t have children, but you get what I’m saying.

(I had to start taking my own pictures because when I stole them from Google Images, they wouldn’t actually show up when I published the blog. Oops.)

Jamie chose Where’d You Go Bernadette for our book club book. We all LOVED it! (It’s pretty rare when that happens.) It was funny, cute, an interesting way to tell the story and a great look at what happens to women (people? but I feel like it happens to women more than men) when we lose a part of ourselves in our families. Plus, the cover is stinkin’ cute.

I received Half-Broke Horses for Christmas. I loved The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls so I asked for her other book for Christmas. This one wasn’t quite as “out there” as The Glass Castle, but I think if I re-read it, I would catch more of the hints of crazy. Highly recommend anything she writes.

The Lords of Discipline is Mama’s favorite Pat Conroy book. It was another Christmas book and I LOVED it. Gosh, he is so good and so hard to read at the same time. But he can paint a picture with words like no other. I love that Sarah chose him for book club those many years ago. 

I then realized I needed to finish HP. It’s been a few years since reading the last one and I love the emotions it brings and the memories. The last book came out while I was studying abroad in London (how perfect is that timing??) and for three days, our entire apartment was silent, just reading. I remember laying in my bottom bunk sobbing as I finished it.

We are reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan in Sunday School and that prompted me to re-read Interrupted by Jen Hatmaker. I also listened to her message from If:Gathering at Tori’s prompting and subsequently took 3 pages of notes. I love her. (Jen and Tori.)

Listen, the next time I want a book the second it comes out, I’m going to reserve it at Barnes and Noble instead of ordering from Amazon. Most people had already finished The Antelope in the Living Room by Big Mama by the time I got mine. So when I finally got it, I sat down and read it in one sitting, laughing and crying the whole way through. It was so good. And while I don’t have an antelope in my living room, I do currently have a wall of Dave Matthews posters so I can totally relate to compromise in living room decor. Also, you should watch this interview with Melanie and Edie at Life In Grace. So funny and good. As soon as I watched it, I immediately ordered all of the books and movies they talked about. I might have a problem.

I decided I needed a no-brainer book, so I grabbed The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott. This was a “meh” for me, but it ended up being better than it started.

Last night I started Peace Like a River by Leif Enger, per Melanie and Edie’s suggestion. So far, I think I’m going to love it.

Any suggestions of what to read next? Although I think I may need to put myself on a book buying ban until we have a house and a full-sized bookshelf to keep all of these books I’ve collected.

2 Comments on “Some Books I Loved and One I Didn’t”

  1. Tori says:

    Just catching up on your blog. So glad you listened to JH. Have you read any books by Lisa See? About women in ancient China, foot binding. Great books. Also just started Priscilla Shirer’s Gideon study. Have you done it? I finished Beth Moore’s Sacred Secrets and as much as i adore her, cant recommend that one. Love you too!! xoxo

  2. Jamie says:

    I just ordered Glass Castle (per this recommendation) a few nights ago Amazon along with a few other books too!
    Okay, maybe not a few books, more like 7!!! Yikes!


Leave a Reply

