Weekend Recap: As Perfect as It Gets

I’m not sure that this weekend could have been much better. Friends, relaxing, food, and animals.

Saturday night, we had dinner at Pease and Ross’s. The weather has been gorgeous lately and we hung out outside, throwing the ball with Sheldon. Ryan and Ross would throw it back and forth and Shelly just could not resist chasing it. We grilled chicken for dinner and had caprese salad, bean salad and corn. It was delicious. After dinner, we watched the Braves and played with Sheldon on the sofa. He loves to be with his people and thinks he still weighs 10 pounds.

Yesterday was Palm Sunday at church. Ryan and I went to early church and ran into Sarah on the way in and sat with her. At Sunday School, we learned that there was going to be a donkey at late church. I agreed with [a different] Sarah when she said they didn’t even have that in the small town she grew up in and we didn’t either. I guess donkeys are more of a novelty in Atlanta than they are in rural Georgia and Alabama. We did see it walking in to church though.

We ate lunch at Willys and came home and I took a nap while Ryan watched the Masters. I woke up in time to see Bubba win his second green jacket. I don’t love to watch golf, but I do love to watch the Masters on Sunday. Augusta National is one of the most beautiful places on earth and I love that it’s in Georgia.

For dinner, I experimented with banana pancakes. Shauna Niequist posted them on her instagram a few days ago, so I decided we should try them out. They couldn’t be easier- mash 2 ripe bananas and mix them with 4 eggs, then cook like regular pancakes. Ryan and I both really liked them and we’ll probably have them again soon. Easy, healthy and yummy. Next time, I will probably add a bit of cinnamon.

After dinner, Ryan and I went for a walk. It’s a little sad how out of shape I am, but it was nice being outside and talking with no distractions. After our walk, we watched The Amazing Race, which is one of the best shows on TV. Our least favorite team got kicked off, so at this point, we don’t care who wins. But I do still have some teams that I like better than others. :)

All in all, a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

