Our Easter

Yesterday was an absolutely beautiful day for Easter. It warmed up, the sky was clear blue and the flowers were in bloom. The perfect day to celebrate our Risen Savior. Our church had four different service options- sunrise, 8:15, 9:30 and 11:15. Typically, Ryan and I are 8:45ers, but that extra 30 minutes was a deal-breaker. I think the 9:30 service was the way to go.

The flowers in the church were absolutely stunning. It looked like a wedding.

The sermon may have been the best I’ve heard from our preacher. He talked about how we go through difficult times, but God does his best work in the dark. It is easier to appreciate the good news when you look back on the journey. Life and this world kills our dreams, but God brings them back to life. This is something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately- the hard times are when I feel closest to God. (At this point in my life, I’ve never been through anything particularly difficult, that being said.) However, I don’t want that to be true. I want to feel close to God always. So, I’m working on taking some steps to get there.

After the service, we went outside to try to get a picture next to the Living Cross. This is one of my favorite Easter traditions.

The crowd of people around it was kinda crazy, but we eventually made our way up there and snagged a picture. It might be my new favorite of us. I was a little worried about my hair because the wind was blowing, but I think it looks pretty good.

After church, we went to Pete’s parents’ house for linner. It was delicious as always. Then we came home and I finished Divergent (um, why the heck did I wait so long to read this???) and watched The Amazing Race. A good Easter Sunday, I have to say.

Where, O Death, is now thy sting? Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

