Life Lately

Life has been kinda crazy around here. This is just a recap of almost everything we’ve been up to.

When we went to our final inspection of the house, I took some pictures of the dogwood in the front yard. I am soooo happy about it!! We need to see about the ivy growing on it because I’m scared it’s killing the tree.

After we closed on the house, we had dinner at Marlowe’s Tavern. Their tomato bacon jam is amazing!

I was packing/cleaning up one night and Ryan stuck a hanger over his head. Then he couldn’t get it off. It was hilarious! He finally had to break it to get it off.

In the midst of all of our packing, cousin Heidi’s book showed up!!!! Along with this delicious chocolate. I’m super close to finishing, but I’m waiting for a big block of time. But so far, I have loved it. I’ll give it a proper review when I’m finished, but I highly recommend it. You can pick it up on Amazon!

The Friday before we moved, we had dinner for Kylie’s birthday. It was sooo good, even though I’m terrible about remembering where we’ve eaten. I do, however, remember that amazing caramel cake from Piece of Cake.

Saturday, we headed to Athens for Twilight and for the sorority’s IRD. I miss Athens. I will never stop missing Athens.

For old time’s sake, we went to General’s for a drink. It hasn’t changed a bit. It made me happy. I’m a little crazy-eyed in this picture.

Sunday morning, we were up bright and early to move. Ryan, Ross and I started off with the breakfast of champions- Waffle House.

It was kinda funny seeing Ryan drive up in that big U-Haul.

After we got most of the big stuff moved on Sunday, Ryan and I spent the rest of the week getting all of the little stuff and cleaning. Ugh.

Our last meal at the apartment- Jimmy Dean’s frozen croissants. They were actually really good.

The house right after we moved in. It’s still a mess, but most of this stuff has cleared out. We just have a lot of furniture we need to buy to unpack everything into.

Last weekend, we went to my parent’s for Big Daddy’s birthday. Sunday was our one year anniversary, so Ryan woke me up super early and we went to Waffle House, just like we did the morning before the wedding.

The top of our cake! It was still delicious, even a year later! Of course, Ryan ate one bite and I ate the rest of it. I think I need to try Whole 30 again to detox myself from all the sugar.

On Friday, Ryan went to Shaky Knees and I went to the Braves game with some Sarah, Jamie, Kacina, Brie and Elizabeth. It was raining and yucky before the game, but it cleared up when we got there. Plus our seats were covered.

Saturday night, I headed home for Mother’s Day. It was just the four of us on Sunday and Mama cooked lunch. It was nice how we all just fell back into our routine and sat down in the dining room where we had always sat. I found a few old pictures when Mama and I were going through some stuff.

Chance was buttoning his shirt all the way to the top way before Ryan did it.

It’s a little hard to see in this picture, but the collar on this dress was HUGE. I remember thinking this was the prettiest dress EVER. (I think both of these pictures were taken for the Mr. and Ms. Sweetheart Pageant (that is a hard word to spell) that the Pilot Club put on for a few years. So yes, I was in a pageant once or twice. One year, the girl that won gave us all chicken pox.)

And that just about wraps us up. We’ve had a busy few weeks and we’re about to have a few more busy weeks. It’ll be nice when things relax and we can get the house painted and in order. I think we’re both getting a little tired of living in chaos.

 

5 Comments on “Life Lately”

  1. Erika B. says:

    OMG. The hanger on head. I almost died laughing. That’s the kind of thing that happens to puppies…or…husbands…??? :)

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      I mean, I would never look at a hanger and think, “I should put my head through this.” Blows my mind.

  2. I love how much y’all incorporate the WH into your relationship! Jim said that after he saw you eat a hot dog and ice cream after some McD’s he could really see why we were friends. I guess that’s a compliment :)

    And how did I not know about this pageant business?!

    • sloandefyinggravity says:

      Ha! I didn’t even realize I mentioned WaHo twice until you pointed it out! And I was a little worried everyone thought I was pregnant since I ate so much and didn’t drink. (I’m not.)

      And the pageants were VERY low-key. No spray tans or fake teeth or even talents. And if Mama hadn’t been in Pilot Club, I doubt we would have even done it.

  3. heidimccahan says:

    Thanks for the shout out and the delightful review on Amazon. Much appreciated. I won’t ever let the boys put a hanger around their neck now. Please thank Ryan for that public service announcement. I think I need to try the tomato bacon jam at some point.


Leave a Reply

