Our Weekend in the Windy City- Pt. 1

This past weekend, Ryan and I went to Chicago for a little anniversary trip. He was there for a conference during the week and I joined him late Friday night and we came home on Monday. It was the perfect little getaway for us and the first time we’d been away alone since our honeymoon.

I love flying by myself because it makes me feel like an adult, and for the uninterrupted, forced reading time.

Saturday, we got up, had breakfast and did some walking. We kept wondering how many miles we had walked over the weekend. It was A LOT.

Our first stop was the bean because of course. It was selfies on steroids, for sure.

After the bean, we went to see this awesome amphitheater. I can’t remember what it’s called, but I’m mostly including this picture because when I took it, Ryan said I didn’t even get him in it and it was perfect! Oh, how he doubts my selfie skillz.

We walked to the pier and looked at the boats. It was so neat to see all of this water and sailboats and to turn around and see skyscrapers and city.

The Blues Fest was going on while we were there and we stopped for a little bit. I think it’s the largest free music festival in the world. This guy was great! Ryan would have stayed there all day if I had let him, but we had things to see!

After the Blues Fest, we walked through this beautiful park where Ryan got attacked by this bird! I was cracking up, as was everyone around us. And then, when I walked past, it started attacking me!! I have no idea what we did to that stupid bird.

We stopped for a minute and put our feet in this little creek. It was cold!

After finding some lunch, we headed out on the water for an architecture tour of the city. It was amazing and I would totally do it when we go back, too! Although next time, I would wear lots of sunscreen. #burnt

These buildings were based on corncobs! Inspiration is everywhere.

The Opera House was Ryan’s favorite. If I remember correctly, there are office buildings on top which keep tickets very inexpensive.

The glass on this building was designed to look like water. I think it’s called Gate III or Gateway III. I also wish I could remember the architects names. Next time, I’ll take notes.

This building is designed to look like traffic! I’m telling you, inspiration is everywhere and I’ve never paid so much attention to the design of a building before in my life. So cool.

This may be my favorite building. It was designed to be a community and there are all different size apartments inside so people of different incomes can live there. So interesting and so thoughtfully designed.

The one in the back there is the Willis Tower. When the Freedom Towers are constructed, it will no longer be the tallest building in the U.S., but it will be the tallest rooftop.

And finally, the new Trump building. There was lots of controversy over this while we were there because the “Trump Stamp” was being put on the week before. We overheard lots of people talking about it. Anyway, the building itself had a really cool and thoughtful design. All of the jags are at the heights of buildings around it and it was designed so you could see the black building behind it, which was the last building designed by Mies Van Der Rohe.

After the tour, we strolled down Michigan Ave. and did some window shopping. We stopped in the Nike store and they had an awesome display of all of the Air Jordans over the years. I remarked to Ryan that there was a ton of Jordan stuff in that store and he looked at me like I was an idiot. Duh, Sloan.

I dragged him into the original American Girl store. Y’all, I have to admit that it just makes me depressed now. They are just not the same as they used to be. Ryan asked me which one was my favorite and I showed him Molly. He looked at her and exclaimed, “That’s you!” Listen, it was one of the happiest moments of my life. I can’t wait to read the books to our daughter.

After lamenting over the loss of Felicity, Kirsten, Samantha, and Molly, we headed to a bar to go watch some of the World Cup. I’m not all that into soccer, but it’s a sport and it was a day that ended in Y, so Ryan wanted to go watch.

After a beer (or two), we headed across the street to have some deep dish. The truth is, I didn’t really know what to expect, but it was delicious. I’m now looking for a place in Atlanta that serves it.

We decided to call it a night kind of early and on the way home, we got to see a naked protest for oil dependency. This was not my first naked protest rodeo, as we saw one in London when I was there with my parents about this same time several years ago. However, it was Ryan’s first and we debated whether the bike was more hardcore (uncomfortable) or the roller blades (shows everything).

And with that, ended our first day in Chicago.

 

 

 

One Comment on “Our Weekend in the Windy City- Pt. 1”

  1. There’s a Chicago pizza place right across from church- Nancy’s I think. We should go there one day after church. I’ve heard the service is slow but it’s good. I love deep dish! (Are we surprised- more bread!) And I’ve always wanted to do the architecture tour on a boat, how fun!


Leave a Reply

