Our Weekend in the Windy City Pt. 2

Our second day in Chicago was much slower paced than the first, which was fine by me. I enjoyed walking the city, but my feet were hurting like crazy!

Day two, we got up and had breakfast at Yolk. I had amazing crepes that came with a side of pancakes! It was crazy and there was no way I could finish all of it. I definitely tried, though.

After Yolk, we were relatively close to Navy Pier, so we just decided to head on over. We thought this might be a good place to get some of the touristy stuff that I like, but no dice. They are renovating Navy Pier to make it more like a park and less like a tourist trap, so there was really just a lot of construction going on.

After the pier, we headed back to the room to change and to head over to the Sky Deck on Willis Tower.

These really cool flower beds were outside it that looked like ships!

The view from the top was amazing! It was kinda crazy being up THAT much higher than everything else.

This is that building that was intended to be a community, with people of all different incomes living there. I loved that you could see the “S” shape from the top!

We waited in line to stand on the decks FOREVER. There was a group of about 8 in front of us and I swear they took every single combination of picture that you possibly could. Everyone else went super fast after that.

The Sky Deck ended up taking a long time and by the time we got back to Earth, it was about 2:30. We were starting to get hungry, but we’d eaten such a huge breakfast that we weren’t starving. So we decided to just go grab a hot dog since we hadn’t had one yet and eat it by the bean. We just sat at a table and ate and people watched. The hot dog was delicious, but I passed on the hot peppers.

A few more pictures in the bean, since we were there.

We then headed back to the room to rest a little bit and get some stuff packed up. We went down to the hotel bar and watched some of the World Cup.

After Argentina won, we went to dinner and to watch game 5 of the NBA Championship. Yes, our life revolves around sports, even when we’re on vacation. But it was actually fun and I decided I wanted the Spurs to win. We also had some of the best guacamole I’ve ever had in my life. Plus, they gave you a ton of it!

As soon as the Spurs won, we headed back for the night. Chicago at night is beautiful.

And before we knew it, we were back on the plane to Atlanta.

Home, sweet home. It was the perfect weekend away. Lots of just hanging out and downtime and doing stuff and just being together. One year later, he’s still my favorite. And we’ve added to our list of places to return.

 

 

2 Comments on “Our Weekend in the Windy City Pt. 2”

  1. Monica Malires says:

    I can’t wait to go with Pete:) Happy you both had a great time…xxoo

  2. Jamie says:

    Looks like y’all had a fantastic time! I loved my time in Chicago and look forward to going back sometime.


Leave a Reply

