The Living Room Plan

The other night, I got sick of all of the boxes and dining chairs just stacked in the living room, so I went on a frenzy and cleared them out (spurred on by this post from Modern Mrs. Darcy.) I can’t even tell you how much better I feel now about the space. And all it took was maybe 15 minutes. So here is our (my) plan for the living and dining room.

The entire room- walls, trim, ceiling- is being painted Chantilly Lace by Benjamin Moore. It’s a soft, pretty white and it’s what the entire store is painted. So I’m keeping it simple with that and just going with something I already know I like. There are a million different whites out there and I could make myself crazy picking or I can make it easy on myself. I also decided to just change out the trim to Chantilly Lace also. It needs to be repainted anyway, so I may as well choose a new color. Because the ceiling is vaulted, we are just going to have someone come out and paint. That is currently what we are waiting on to make some other purchases for the room.

Mama bought two chairs for us at the church yard sale that we are having reupholstered. The pink and green plaid has got to go.

We are planning on redoing them in this fun floraly-paisley from House of Fabric. This fabric is our jumping off point for the entire house. I’m a primary color girl.

My original inspiration fabric was this Duralee floral from fabric.com, but it sold out before I could buy it. Happy accident, though, because I think I like the new fabric better. It is a little bit more sophisticated, anyway.

The sofa is the same one from our apartment. Comfy, but will need to be slipcovered at some point. Still debating a color, but it will definitely be solid. Maybe a blue or a different green or just a neutral linen. We’ve got some time on that, though. The side tables are just hand me downs from my parents and Mimi and Papa. We also snagged this wooden chair from Mama and Daddy. It’s actually really comfortable. Ryan has taken it over ever since the Lay-Z-Boy was sent to the basement.

 

We do need to get a pair of lamps for them. My inspiration came from these lamps that Hollywood Housewife saw while thrifting in her hometown. I love the white and brass. I’ve found several on Etsy, I just need to pull the trigger on a pair. Let’s be real- it all comes down to money. I should do a post on lighting. For me, it’s one of the most important aspects of a room and can take the room from builder-grade to custom really quickly, even if the rest of your stuff is standard Ikea or Target.

Our coffee table is from work. It’s an ottoman from Lee Industries and I love the mid-century vibe. It’s much better than our old one, that was too high for the sofa and made your legs fall asleep. Plus, it will be extra seating if we need it. We probably do need to get tray tables for when we eat dinner in front of the TV. (Hey, it happens. Although we have gotten better about it since moving into the house.) I think it might be too big for the room, but I’m hoping that the tall bookshelves on the other side of the room will help balance it out.

For the TV, we are going to get one of these bookshelves from Ikea. This one is bigger than the one we will probably be able to get. The plan is to paint the back of the shelves green or blue. It’s probably not going to be able to hold as many books as I would like, but it will work. My dream house would have had custom built-ins, but I compromised. ;)

I would love to do something like this above those bookshelves, if there is room.

For the windows, I’m planning on making these Roman shades in white. Our window is HUGE and we desperately need something to cover it besides the hideous, all different length curtains that were left by the previous owners. (I don’t feel that bad bad-mouthing them. They left the house filthy when they moved out and said they would clean it, plus they left us their nasty dog bed and a bunch of other trash to deal with. Not very happy about that.)

At first, I was potentially trimming them in this Greek key ribbon. However, I think my drapery plans have changed.

To add some color to the window, I’m going to also do a drapery panel, but I’m not 100% sure what yet. I was originally thinking this blue stripe. However, I just wasn’t feeling it. It seemed to nautical/little boy for what I wanted.

So now I’m thinking green. Green and red are my two favorite colors, so why not? The green will go more toward chartruese, so it won’t look Christmas-y.

This is an option, but I haven’t ordered a sample yet to see. I would love a chunky green and white stripe, but haven’t been able to find one yet.

 

 

For the artwork, I’m going to use the same pieces that were above the sofa in the apartment. I love them. When we were in Greensboro over the weekend, I fell in love with this old blue piece of porch architecture. I mostly just loved the color and the fact that someone had painted their house this crazy shade of blue! Ryan is adapting to it. ;) You can see it peeking out from behind the sofa in this picture. Yes, it’s the same picture, but I know I’m too lazy to scroll back up, so I assume you are too.

I do have to buy another piece of art or two for this wall. My parents had this antique washstand upstairs in our house for years and then they moved it down to the lake. I’ve always loved the tile on it and when we were there a few weeks ago, I asked Mama if I could have it and she said yes! We’ve decided to use it as a bar. It’s a little small and we need to figure out the artwork situation, but I think it’s what we needed to add some warmth to the room.

That orange chair in the corner of the picture needs to be recovered also. It was one of the first pieces of furniture I ever bought. I still love the lines of it.

I’m thinking some cool black and white photography. I’m currently obsessed with this picture of Stevie Nicks and her dog. But do I want the Welsh Witch Woman to be the first thing you see when you walk in our house? I don’t know.

So that’s about where I’m at right now. We haven’t actually made any progress yet, but the pieces are all there. Just need to get moving on them.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

